We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunny Day May/June 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Day Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #102 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunny Day May/June 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed at the “Sunny Day Club Hotel” in Sunny Beach, Bulgaria from 28/06/2012 until 12/06/2012 .I should begin by expressing our opinions of the Hotel and then latterly of Bulgaria itself. We booked 2 weeks B&B. The Hotel was nice and clean with none of the problems that are shown in some of the pictures on this web page. The room cleaners came every day and they worked very hard to keep the hotel looking nice and clean. One of the first things to strike me was the overall look of the hotel and its features. On the photo’s it shows very clearly arches at the top floor, these are no longer there and the height of the hotel has increased since the old pictures with the new roof being flat with solar panels and water tanks. This does slightly spoil the overall aesthetics of the hotel a little; it is still not a tall hotel, which is good, as we do not like big tall hotels that look like 60’s tower blocks. Our room had the sofa bed assembled, which was to be expected, as we are a family of four. This made the room a little bit smaller space wise but we got on fine in it. Although there was a small fridge in the room, there was little else. There was NO kettle or drink making facilities so be warned; it costs 2 levs to hire a kettle each day so if you have a travel kettle, take it with you. Tea bags are for sale locally but are more expensive than teabags are back here in the UK and not as good. We was surprised at the lack of facilities in the room, maybe we was naïve in thinking that a B&B Hotel would have self catering equipment but we are unsure if you have to book a self catering room to get those facilities. This lack of Facilities meant you had to buy every item of food or drink from cafes or restaurants.
The cost of drinks in the hotel bar was quite reasonable at around 1.70 levs for a coke or fanta and considering the exchange rate was 2.38 levs to the pound, that worked out reasonable. In the Hotel Bar and restaurant the staff are very friendly but be warned, they always seem to be “struggling” for change, often they will round off your change in their favour which is quite a common practice in Bulgaria itself. If you have the correct money then they can’t do this. The sun beds in the hotel are the standard white PVC type but with NO cushions on so can get a bit uncomfortable. They do hire cushions out for a price, which we found expensive considering they are provided free at other hotels.
The pool bar wasn’t open for most of our stay but opened in the last few days we were there. The pool itself is very, very cold so ease yourself in steady LOL. As there are two really good slides into the pool its an obvious choice for those with kids, but you still get rowdy noisy people coming back to their rooms in the early hours with very little consideration for others. We think the Hotel could do with some signs asking residents to consider others when arriving late back to their rooms.
We upgraded to half board after our first evening eating out in a local restaurant, this cost us around £35 levs per night and although breakfast included drinks, this deal did NOT and drinks was charged extra which varied in price according to if you had the right change or not. In refection this was a very bad choice but at the time we didn’t fancy a nightly search for a decent place to eat that was a reasonable price. Night after night we was handed a single sheet of A4 size paper with choice of 2 soups, 2 vegetarian dishes, 2 main meals, and deserts which was the same every night, ice-cream, fruit or pancakes with chocolate sauce in them. The food was very cheap and very poor and we would NOT recommend anyone to upgrade to half board. It comprised mainly of chips, pasta, pizza, and reformed minced meats of differing kinds laden with spices. The breakfast was repetitive also with chocolate balls cereal and corn flakes with fruit and ham and cheese with a varying cooked breakfast with pot luck if bacon was on offer or not, also a selection of Bulgarian cakes and a toaster that takes three passes through to make your toast be not like just warm bread.
There is a reasonable exchange counter in the Hotel reception however DO NOT use this as an ATM, we wanted 500 levs from a cash machine so used their service, only when it came to sign on the line did we notice it said 540 levs and he only gave us 500, the rest was a charge of some kind. It is much better to exit the hotel, turn left, stay on the same side of the road and when you are at the traffic lights you will see a perfectly good proper cash machine which works very well. You cannot get a balance but can withdrawal your money from there without the charge from the hotel.
Outside the Hotel to the right, is the bus stop, the number one bus, for 1 lev each it takes you to Nessabar which is a beautiful place but has loads of women trying to sell magnetic necklaces and bracelets and although I said NO in three different languages, their response was simply (no problem) and it can take an awful long time to get rid of them, they also grabbed our daughters hand and tried the bracelet on her with out our consent, in a very pushy selling style.
Across the road from the hotel is a taxi rank, please discuss fares to and from destination before you even open the door if you intend to use one. A resident at our hotel got into an argument about a high fare for a short journey and the taxi driver ran off with one of his suitcases because he refused to pay his high fare.
As for Bulgaria itself.
We would describe Sunny Beach as a very warm version of Skegness.
The market stalls sell gimmicky toys like those barking puppy dog toys and radio controlled cars that would be cheaper if you bought them in the UK.
There are lots of over priced stores selling very cheap items each seller trying to fleece as much from you as they can.
Even price marked bottles of coke, which have 1.79 levs written on them, are re-priced with a higher price ticket on them especially for us visitors.
Walking along the seafront you get bombarded by promoters each saying that their food is the best and they do a kids menu etc etc.
We found most of the places to eat were all around the same price and they all sold the same kinds of foods with a family of four costing between 45levs upwards for meals and drink for us four.
Avoid “EMONA” restaurant, kept us waiting so long for a lunch order(over an hour) I told the staff that we came in there for lunch NOT dinner, so we left and ate at “FOOD BAR ISLAND” which is very close by. We got our order quite quickly but they forgot to bring my drink, which was charged for and they didn’t refund me when I mentioned this.
Almost every shop and market stall you go to, does not have change, this gets very annoying and repetitive, we think they are all hoping customers just say “keep the change” to save the hassle but don’t do this, insist on your change.
At any point of payment, whether a shop or bar or anywhere in Bulgaria, DO NOT say “thank you” as you pay. To a Bulgarian, to say thank you as you are making a payment means “keep the change”. Not knowing this, cost me, in the first few days wondering why I didn’t get any change.
Overall Bulgaria is a beautiful place to visit and the kids loved it there.
I personally would not revisit as the food is not very good on the whole and the kids did not like much that was on offer so almost lived entirely on chips.
I would compare Sunny beach to a low cost airline, it starts off sounding very cheap but almost everything is an optional extra that comes with a charge, even pubs charge you to use the toilets etc, so all those who say Bulgaria is cheap must look more closely.
Perhaps in a few years, when the locals learn what we like and dislike, then perhaps it will be a great place to visit. But for now, I would say its not an ideal place to visit but does have great potential and is a beautiful and lovely country with nice people.

Room Tip: we chose first floor and liked it room 425 nice early morning sun and through the day too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    119
    61
    29
    50
See reviews for
159
91
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just got back today June 12th 2012 Hotel was very clean and for the price a good standard. The reception were friendly but didnt have any knowledge of the area like where is the nearest cash machine... this was a bit dissapointing as the thomas cook reps were either invisible or couldnt speak (not sure if they could but the girl on the return coach didnt do anything other than wave a clipboard) although sunny beach isnt a massive area so not a major issue. Food and drinks in the hotel were cheap and average as with most of the resort, it was very hard to find good food anywhere although a new restaurant Terra has just opened on the beach and is very good. Theres plenty to do in the day if you want or just relax by the pool, nightlife is very disjointed the bars and clubs are all over the main strip mixed in with the market stalls. This means that families are mixed in with groups of drunken lads (mainly foreign not many english at all) so If you want to go shopping and find a drunk german 16 year old being sick on your kid in the push chair its a great night out, personally i prefer places where the shops and the bars are not all jumbled up! Get a cab to Nessebar but dont let them use the meter agree a price up front. Everyone warns you not to go out alone or lose your friends and watch out for the gypsies who will rape an pillage and then chop you up and eat you however I didnt spot 1 or feel threatened in any way a day shopping in croydon is a lot worst! If you want a cheap as chips holiday then sunny beach is the place with cocktails about £3 and a meal £5 but dont expect it to be quite as good as the canaries/greece/turkey (tenerife/zante etc) which although more expensive are just that bit better.

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony without a tree directly in front of it (unlike mine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank todderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed 1st June - 9th June. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a very good size, with the added benefit of a fridge. Cleaned every day.Supermarket opposite open 24 hours. We stayed B & B and enjoyed eating out every night. Worth catching the buses only 1 Lev (50p) each, to Nessebar bus stop outside. Old Nessebar worth visiting, (dont catch the little tractor train back - drops you right at the bottom end of sunny beach and hotel is at the top end - good walk). Beach only a 5 min walk, which was beautiful and very clean. Will go back again.

Birmingham, West Midlands.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Sunny Day hotel between 28th may - 4th june 2012. We arrived in the early hours but the staff at reception were still very helpful and took our bags to our room. The room itself was in top condition, lovely carpeted floors and nice bathroom, plus a mini fridge and TV! All of the balconies face towards the pool so dont expect a sea view! We went b&b and the breakfast was a good selection. The hotel is located approx 10 mins walk from the vibrant strip with bars, restaurants and clubs. It is a tiny walk to the beach and also has a handy bus stop just outside to get to the water park (excellent btw) and Nessebar.

Overall i had a wonderful holiday, it did rain for the first couple of days though, so if i went back it would be later in the season, but definately i would recommend this hotel, top quality for the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcclarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

this place is amazing the staff are the best peopel i evere met they will act like they are your best freinds the food is not bad and to top it all off its cheap

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#25 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 km away
Slavyanski Hotel
Slavyanski Hotel
#144 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#13 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 km away
TSB Sunny Victory Apartments
TSB Sunny Victory Apartments
#3 of 150 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 km away
Efir Holiday Village
Efir Holiday Village
#10 of 150 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Day Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Day Hotel and Apartments

Property: Sunny Day Hotel and Apartments
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 964 - ₹ 3,341
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Day Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing