We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay ”
Review of Cinco Portas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cinco Portas
Ranked #1 of 3 Ibo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Cinco Portas for five nights at the end of a three week holiday in Mozambique.

From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed, it was a wonderful experience!

Chris, I.T. and all the staff were warm, helpful and welcoming. They are all very professional but also nicely informal. We were so well looked after, thank you to everyone.

The food is exceptional and it’s a very comfortable place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

This is a great place to stay. Location is perfect and rooms are confortable and very well decorated.

Food is amazing, day after day! Thanks Chris :-)

Staff is very friendly and helpfull. High quality and reliable service.

Room Tip: Sunset room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MariliaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Marilia for telling what you just did! Thank you for trusting Cinco Portas and staying with us during your days in Quirimbas.
I am specially happy that you liked our staff, they are a nice bunch of people.
Remember to boil the spare ribs for 2-3 hours before you marinate them.
For marinade you can use a mixture of:
crushed tomato, little red wine vinegar ( suitable for people from the Iberian peninsula), Mrs. Ball's Chutney ( not suitable for people from the Iberian peninsula), oil, fresh crushed garlic, BBQ spice, soy sauce, black pepper, thyme, rosemary and salt. Mix together and brush on ribs a few hours before they go to the oven.
Hope to see you in the future
Best from Ibo and Cinco Portas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

First a thanks to Chris for making our stay so pleasant and smooth! Second a big thanks to all the guys at the front desk (sorry I can't remember names!!) who were so fun to talk with and made the small hotel feel like home for us. Swimming with the kids in front of the hotel will be something I always remember. Thanks for a great stay, great hospitality and great food.

Hello from Brian and Fan!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We loved staying at Cinco Portas on Ibo Island. The reservation was perfectly handled by
Kaskazini Travel of Pemba, a great travel agency: appointments were met, on arrival with the Cinco Portas boat, on departure with our road transport at Tandanhengue. It is good to know that it is essential to take the tide times into account when planning to cross from Tandanhengue to Ibo or back.
We had a two room apartment with shared bathroom. The rooms are spacious, the top one has a roof terrace overlooking the bay. We had all our evening meals there and enjoyed them, as we did the breakfasts. Chris, the manager, and his staff are most helpful.
Cinco Portas would be perfect if there were some chairs, and mabe a couple of coat hangers, in the rooms, ...and can we wish there were a soap shelf in the shower? Only minor criticism, as you can see.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jean-Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you very much Mr. Gubler for taking your time to share your opinions on TripAdvisor.
We are on a quest of upgrading our rooms and your remarks will be fully implemented in the upgrade.
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your good remarks regarding our staff and our food. It is our location, our food and our staff that have made Cinco Portas so increasingly popular during the last years.
Say hello to the rest of your family.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Ibu Island is somewhat off the beaten track and the first thing to keep in mind when you decide to go here is to accept that it will quite a journey & it won't come cheap. We had arranged transportation via Cinco Portas and were picked up by their designated driver right on time to take us to the ferry (which is about a four hour drive). The ferry ride itself is about half an hour but depends on what time you will be departing. The only alternative is to fly which costs USD250 per person one way... something we ended up doing on our return trip because we couldn't quite imagine doing that long journey for a second time.

Here's some things to take into account when you are thinking through what to do:
- Obviously the car/ferry option is cheaper but it is definitely longer and also more likely to be delayed by weather conditions. Unexpected rain will make the journey longer and more challenging.
- The flight is expensive but stunningly beautiful. It's not for the faint-hearted though: turbulence can turn it into quite a bumpy right. You'll be in safe hands with the bush pilot who is very experienced but it's good to keep this in mind. All in all you will be up in the air for about 25 minutes.

Cinco Portas is probably the best place to stay on Ibo Island. Obviously there is the (much more expensive!) Ibo Island Loge but honestly we couldn't quite see what makes the difference in price. Most of all Cinco Portas seems to be much more alive and pretty much the place people go to for dinner to even if they aren't staying there.

We stayed in the large room overlooking the sea with a small sitting area and attached bathroom. It's a very pretty room which gets lots of sea breeze, especially during the day. It does come with an aircon which doesn't seem to do all that much and probably needs servicing. As much as the sea breeze cools things during the day it seems to lessen considerably during the night which means that the aircon might need to be on (even though you might think it's fine to keep it off).

The restaurant is very good and both the breakfast as well as dinner were very well taken care of. I think one of the key things about this property is the quality of its management which really makes all the difference. Kris is a very hands-on character, very well-informed, incredibly experienced, and really the person to go to for all your requests and ideas. Ibo Island is not the most 'standard' destination: it's a bit of colonial ghost town but it's worth investing some time to figure out what it has to offer. Kris is a great guy to figure this out with.

All in all we think this might be your best bet at Ibo. It's centrally located, well-managed, and has the kind of atmosphere one might expect (or would like to expect) from a property like this. At the same time it's good to realise where one is heading: not exactly the center of the universe and thus off the beaten track, away from it all. Cinco Portas' bar is well-stocked, the food is excellent and the guy behind the counter will be able to care of your mobile phone connection. There's no wifi in the room but the signal is strong at the bar. There are no real shops on the island so anything else you might need it's best to bring it along.

Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisCincoPortas, Manager at Cinco Portas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you VERY much Michiel for spending your valuable time giving this detailed review about Ibo and Cinco Portas! What struck me reading your review the first time is how professional and balanced it is, you should contemplate a second career as a travel journalist!
I love to read that you appreciated our efforts when it comes to service and food quality. As you know, Cinco Portas is not a 5* resort, it's a rustic small lodge where we treat our guests without a lot of formality, straightforward and with focus on you.
It is not rocket science that you want to relax while on vacation, that you want to experience things in your own pace, and that you want to enjoy. Personally if I arrive a hotel with signs plastered all over what to think about, what to do and what not to do, with rules, rules and more rules, I feel that my vacation has been somewhat ruined.
"Have I checked in here to fullfill the wishes and rules of a hotel owner without care or knowledge, or have I checked in here to feel comfortable, relaxed and be taken care of?"
Between taking care of our guests I spend a lot of time with our staff, uplifting, promoting, pushing our staff to take own decisions, to feel proud of their knowledge and background. This is a very sensitive issue, especially in a part of the world with a colonial past. Most people living their life's on the 32 Islands making up Quirimbas Archipelago have had very little contact with the outside world and are brought up to pay a lot of respect for the "white man". Only one of 20 staff members has ever visited a restaurant and/or a hotel!
I always do my best to tear this barriers down, telling our staff "Don't pay respect to our guests, pay attention!" When the staff feel safe in their job they will be able to have a relaxed interaction with the guests.
Running a lodge on a small Island, built with locally sourced material, surrounded by breezes of salty water, constantly takes it tolls. Our maintenance team are busy in their quest of constant upgrades and improvements. From January this year until June we have been very busy upgrading all our rooms with new tiles, improving hot water supply, drainage, aircon maintenance, new fans, new linen, new towels, making sure our cars and boats are in mint condition, and the list goes on, year after year. The day you stop and think that their is no need for further upgrades, that is the exact date your lodge started it's downwards spiral, something you often read about on TripAdvisor.
Our new web page and a new improved booking system will further enhance the possibilities for me to spend even more time focused on our guests and their needs.
Michiel, one more thing, both you and Ritesh are such nice persons (or people, I don't know what would be the correct form?) and that helps a lot when it comes to my part, trying to give attention and good service!
I am happy that your overall experience was positive, so positive that you didn't even mention the mishaps from our side that you experienced! All taken care of, all future guests in "your" room will have a well functioning bathroom. (Oops, I just did a Trump, bringing something up that "painted me in bad light" without any need for it!)
Michiel & Ritesh, next time you pop by IT, our bartender will have a brand new bottle of "spanking good" gin in the freezer waiting for you.
Take care, and keep on travelling.
Also say hello to the "developed world" from me, something that I honestly don't
miss very often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
16.3 km away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
0.5 km away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Miti Miwiri Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ulani Lodge
Ulani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
10 reviews
0 km away
Guludo Beach Lodge
Guludo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Quirimbas National Park
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinco Portas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Portas

Address: Rua de la Republica, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ibo
Price Range: ₹ 3,064 - ₹ 6,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinco Portas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinco Portas is a 3 star lodge on Ibo Island, Quirimbas National Park, constantly ranked 5 star by our guests! Our garden, pool and famous restaurant are welcoming you all year round. Cinco Portas is the gateway to Quirimbas and our bar is where you meet locals, expats and other tourists looking for fun and new friends. Cinco Portas cater for around 75% of all excursions in Quirimbas. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cinco Portas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing