We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
124
114
91
57
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
114
91
57
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds tavern united large pizza great water park breakfast buffet alerus center mini fridge water slides large bathroom sausage arcade splashers canadinns garbanzo comforter canada thursday
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

This place is very superficial - everything looks good at first glance, but there is no follow through. They have several restaurants in the building, but all serve the same bland, made from frozen food with some of the restaurants even sharing a kitchen ('l Bistro and Garbonzo's). If you stay here, get your food elsewhere, or if you are desperate just pick the place with the cheapest prices, because all the food is the same. Service is lacking and if you look too closely you will notice many trim pieces missing and the "beautiful" appearance is just a cheap masking for a quite ordinary 2 star hotel. Money is best spent elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 220natel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We needed a different hotel. And this one was beautiful. Clean friendly helpful. Lots of restaurants. Although the breakfast buffet was lacking in taste. My husband had waffles and even after soaking in syrup he couldn't cut it. If he tapped his fork on the side it sounded scratchy. But it was free. Although my brother in law and sister in law said they stopped going there for breakfast because it changed for the worse, they live in Grand Forks.

The water park was so fun even for a 57 year old.

Thanks for saving us from an awful hotel last minute.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Josakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Dakota Jacuzzi theme room. It was wonderful! The Jacuzzi was huge. The room featured a big tv, fireplace, and a chuck wagon bed. The staff were somewhat inexperienced and it left a little to be desired...but for the price it was a small glitch. We received two free drink coupons for the tavern and breakfast coupons as well (breakfast starts at 7 so we were unable to use these). They had large truck parking at the back. We will stay here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Angele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stopped in to cool off at the water park and the entire family had a good time. We stayed for four hours and there was fun for all ages. The basketball pool was a bit chilly that day, but everything else was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We had a pretty decent stay. We went with another couple.

We had booked a kids theme suite. Rainforest. The bathroom was large, long counter and a tub/shower combo.

Room had a small closed off kids room with 2 small bunk beds, a tv and a ps4. You need to sign out games and controllers at front desk.

Also had a desk, queen size bed and fridge and microwave.

Air conditioner is loud but worked well. You need to have a fan going between main room and kid room if you have the kid's door closed for ventilation which is also loud.

Our window faced the pool, I prefer outside Windows that open.

Ice machines are only on every second floor.

Food - normally breakfast isn't included but for July they had a promotion at Altos. Free breakfast buffet. You did need a voucher to go.
Both days were the same but decent.

Pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, two kinds if cereal, oatmeal, coffee, orange juice and apple juice.

We wanted to go to L'bistro so headed down and even though they were open for another hour the kitchen was closed and all you could get was alcohol so we headed over to Tavern United. Horrible, horrible service.

We waited 10 minutes for a tabke in a very not busy restaurant by the please wait to be seated sign while 3 waitresses walked past us numerous times. We sat ourselves and waited another 20 minutes before we were able to flag down a waitress. We almost got up and left.

Food was delicious, we had poutine, wings and soup between all of us.

The pool was great and the reason we chose the Canadinn. One thing though, is they don't let you know if you don't want to use the water water, you can use the pool and kiddie pool free if you are a paying hotel guest.

We met MANY guests who were unaware if this and paid for wristbands to take their infants I'm the pool.

Wi-Fi was down so that was a bit inconvenient.

Staff is friendly and quick to help.

We would stay here again and recommend it to friends. This was my 5th time here and we always enjoy it.

Another perk is that it's a 30 second drive to the Japanese gardens with the most incredible park for children including inclusive swings.

We stopped by before driving home and letting the kids play and burn off energy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews