We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bedford(Bedford)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine(Marston Moretaine)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$ 236
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$ 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 97
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
306
89
46
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
89
46
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbletchley parkcheese boardfor sunday lunchsuperior roommain buildinglovely roomtwo night stayfollowing morningcooked breakfastknife cleaverchurch bellsterrymillbrookstartersbedfordshireaccommodationannex
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

An Excellent Pub , restaurant and hotel. We stayed in a small annex to the pub in a room which equalled that of a Premier inn type and i some ways was nicer because of the rural feel of the place. The Pub had an excellent range of drinks whilst e restaurant had most of the old favourites with quite a few different dishes. I wish I could have stayed longer. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgwhite2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope you decide to stay with us again soon so that you can sample more of our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Looks a pleasant spot on the web so booked via booking.com which was painless.

Regretfully found several shortcomings namely TV channels not working, room not cleaned, wifi limited, no wifi code, no soap to basin, broken blinds, noisy pub clientele leaving/arriving at 0130/0600, church bells chiming all night. I even found someones camera booklet poking out from under the bed, does the hoover exist one asks? PS. if there's a canon owner out there missing his guide then ring the pub!

Pub does features a decent restaurant but a rather pretentious and pricey menu, the only good thing I have to say is the staff are all very helpful and seemingly the only thing keeping this place alive.

Breakfast is rather strange and slow, no cereals/fruit or self service simply a menu to select and then wait for it to be prepped, even had to ask for marmalade!.

The managers reply to other reviews a couple of weeks ago are clearly worthless promises to satisfy the readers, suggest you dig a little deeper as the truth is sometimes hard to find.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hiya_its_Topcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review on your recent visit, I apologise that it didn't meet expectations, We have noted the points you have raised and have since taken steps to correct these, we have since retuned the TV's which has fixed the problem with the TV, we are also currently in the process of getting WIFI extenders to address the issue of the WIFI. We have again reviewed our policies with regards to housekeeping and are implementing new checks.

Unfortunately we have no control over the church bells, with regards to the guests leaving the pub we do ask that they leave in a quiet and considerate manner and apologise this wasn't the case on your visit.

We also choose to offer a fresh cooked breakfast rather than self service as we feel this provides the best quality and standard of breakfast and having review our breakfast we decided to not offer cereals or fruit on the menu, however we do have a number of fruits in the kitchen which we would be happy to provide if asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Spent the evening with my husband, to escape the hustle and bustle. We were greeted by a big smile and a very friendly welcome. Accommodation was perfect. Very comfortable and clean. Food in the restaurant was amazing and delicious. Spent the evening in the bar - it was very friendly and the staff were great.
Breakfast was very tasty and set us up for the day. Definately Recommend to everyone

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, we are glad that you enjoyed you recent stay with us. I passed your comments along to the team who were glad to read such nice comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Arrived at hotel Monday afternoon. Greeted by staff at bar, very helpful. All 9 rooms are outside the main building. Very easy to find. Room a little smaller then expected. But a lovely room. My only problem was the room not cleaned the whole stay. Bed made up every day but no attempt to clean the shower or the bathroom at all! Towels not changed until the Thursday. But we were leaving on the Friday. Tea making facilities filled up everyday. But as I said. I had an issue with the total lack of cleaning carpet not hoovered at all the whole stay. I think this lets the hotel down. The staff are great as is the food. That cannot be faulted. Shame really. Think they need look at employing more cleaning staff.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor. Easily accessible. We stay in room1. It noisy as next to car park
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Allow me to apologise firstly, As a standard our housekeepers do change the towels on a daily basis for guests staying more than one night, so I am unsure as to why this was the case for you. I passed these comments to our housekeeping team as a means of training to ensure there is no repeat. However we are glad that you enjoyed the food and service from the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Turned up on the off chance about 1.30 - the place was packed !
Not a problem and they managed to squeeze us in. Roast lamb for me and Herb crusted cod for the good lady both beautifully cooked. To finish chocolate and ale cake with treacle ice cream and the best Bromley apple crumble I ever tasted , a real winter warmer which was welcome on such a cold day.
Thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review, We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us, we look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews