We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading & dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Had a highway rest stop coupon & called and asked if they'd honor it. Said yes , then when I got there , they didn't. Rooms were old with old bedding & furniture. If your on the 2nd floor , no elevator. Pay the extra $25 and go to a nice chain. At least you know what your getting.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

First there was alot of confussion at check in. I made the reservation with the hotel in advance. I reserved what they call the executive suite. That was the smallest room we
ever stayed in at a hotel. AC was very noisy. Refridgerator didn't get cold. I had to get a ice cooler and fill it with ice. Don't use washer and dryer at this hotel clothes will never dry.I had to hang them in the room to dry.
Don't go without your shoes on carpet was filthy. They give you no towels and they are so cheep and worn. You can hear everyone above you and going up and down the stairs.
We checked out early instead of the week we needed. Days Inn was much better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexxus4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I booked through Hotels.com Made sure it was a NON smoking room. They gave me smoking and said it was the only room left, take it or leave it. Next to a staircase and first floor. I heard every footstep upstairs, very noisy and like sleeping in an ashtray. AVOID THIS!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SelectInnBisGM, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

The room was booked through Expedia and they cannot see our room inventory. They overbooked our non-smoking rooms. We do our best to accomodate our guests, but reserving a non-smoking room is a request and not guaranteed due to availability issues. Our desk clerk did offer the guest an ozone machine which takes all the odors out of the room, but the guest declined. I spoke with the guest over the phone and offered some compensation, but was also declined because it wasn't worth their time. Unfortunately, we tried to make things right with the guest but didn't have any success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed here one night as part of a 4-day cross country move with our two cats. We hoped for somewhere close to I-94, clean, comfortable and pet-friendly. We chose this motel based on TA reviews and on Select Inn's claims that they accept pets.

We reserved a room with king bed 3 weeks in advance and specifically told them at the time that we were traveling with 2 cats. We agreed to pay an extra pet fee and damage deposit.

Strike One: We arrived around 6PM. Upon check-in we were told that a mistake had been made and there were no king-bed/pets allowed rooms. We were "lucky", they told us, that there was a smaller room available. In other words, if we had arrived later and no pet-allowed rooms were available, they would have turned us away despite the fact that, when we made our reservations, we made it clear we would have cats with us.

Strike Two: The room was on the second floor of a building with no elevators. We had to haul everything including the cats and their kennels around the parking lot and up stairs. Anyone who cannot handle stairs should be wary of this place because, at no time during the reservation process do they inform you about the lack of elevators, and, in our experience, do not do a good job of honoring specific reservations.

Strike 3: Our room was very poorly furnished. The fixtures were outdated and cheap. The refrigerator was wobbly and barely cooled anything. The carpet was slightly damp.The room was drab, dark and depressing. The air conditioning was very noisy but barely adequate to remove the humidity from the air. We could not wait to get out of there.

I peeked in other rooms with open doors and came away with the impression that the "pet friendly" rooms are nowhere near as nice as the non-pet rooms, even though we were paying more for staying with pets.

We stayed in 3 other motels on this trip, and Select Inn was the only one where we were made to feel unwelcome, overcharged and were given distinctly inferior accommodations because of our pets. There are some motels out there that do a good job of accommodating travelers with pets; Select Inn is not one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

On our USA road trip we've now stayed at many places, and this was an average place.
Highlights: clean, near freeway, semi modern town wi lots of places to eat
Low: beds are creaky and uncomfortable, staff booked us into an occupied room (uuuhh), air co could now be turned on at night due to it being loud

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#4 of 32 in Bismarck
653 reviews
2.9 km away
Ramada Limited Bismarck Northeast
1.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Bismarck I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
4.0 km away
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
1.4 km away
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 1505 Interchange Ave, I-94 & Us 83, Bismarck, ND 58501-2080 (Formerly Select Inn Bismarck)
Region: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bismarck
Price Range: ₹ 3,832 - ₹ 5,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Inn Bismarck Hotel Bismarck
Select Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing