We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabuluous!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graylyn Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graylyn Estate
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabuluous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I absolutely love this hotel which made me feel as though I had stepped back in time with regards to the Grayln's luxury and customer service. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We loved walking the estate and playing horse shoes. The free assortment of ice cream certainly made the stay quite enjoyable for my daughter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    60
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
91
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I had a short weekend get away to Winston to attend an event at Wake Forest University. This was our first visit to the Graylyn. Our expectations were high and it met everyone of them. The service could not have been better - it was almost too good, if that is possible. They were almost answering our questions before we could ask them. We stayed on the second floor of the manor house which had much "WOW" factor. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed strolling to the Mews and around the grounds. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TANGOWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

As a WFU grad, I am biased but I think Graylyn is just one spectacular one-of-a-kind place. The whole estate, grounds, and facilities are first rate. Great run/walk through The grounds over to Reynolds House and on to Wake Forest. Breakfast is included and a real buffett. Rooms are interesting and very comfortable with free coffee, tea, and ice cream bars nearby. Do yourself a favor and stay an extra night!

Room Tip: Ask for Manor House room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CenterFielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here with my family in February 2012 to visit my grandmother at Arbor Acres retirement community. The hotel is an easy drive to AA however you definitely need a car to get around the area. The beds were very comfortable. I was a little disappointed that I could not take a hot shower (the water got warm but given that it was 22 degrees outside I wanted some more heat!!!). Breakfast was fine...nothing spectacular. They offer eggs, bacon, saussage, grits, muffins, fruit, pancakes...standard buffet offerings. I would stay here again given the convenience of the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Wonderful restaurant with private dining, excellent service through all facets of the stay, and complimentary ice cream. A charming establishment!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahk13d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
4.5 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
4.1 km away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
3.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graylyn Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graylyn Estate

Property: Graylyn Estate
Address: 1900 Reynolda Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-5100 (Formerly Graylyn International Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,353 - ₹ 27,749
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Graylyn Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of Mr & Mrs Bowman Gray, Graylyn is now a historic boutique hotel with all of today's modern amenities. Graylyn features 86 well-appointed and uniquely decorated guest rooms attractively situated throughout the pristine 55-acre estate just minutes from downtown Winston-Salem. An unforgettable experience awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Graylyn Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graylyn International Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing