We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't believe everything you read” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I normally don't write reviews, but thought I needed to. We are a family of 3. Lived in Wilmington for 2 years, and we came back this past weekend to visit and do some diving. I was nervous when my husband said we we staying here, based on the reviews that I read. Don't believe them. You can tell that management is trying to better the hotel. The first room we checked into has just had the carpets cleaned and the rug was wet. In less then a minute they had us in a new room. The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave. Only bad thing I would say on room is it is not 2 queen beds, but 2 full size beds. But not a problem for us. Breakfast had 3 choices of cereals, 4 different pastries, muffins, and 3 different bagel options. With juice, coffee and tea. Which worked just fine for us and saved us $20 from having to eat breakfast out. If that's not enough choices waffle house is right next store, so is chick fil a.

For those reading reviews, this isn't a 5 star Marriott, but for the price and location it is great. Close to beach and downtown.

The housekeeper even made up my daughters bed all nice and pretty with her blankets, pillow and dolls the one morning. Every time we walked past an employee they were very polite. We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    44
    25
    30
    80
See reviews for
66
51
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I am a Red Roof RediCard member and I always stay at Red Roof Inns whenever possible. I have stayed at this particular location several times before whenever I am in Wilmington to visit the USS NORTH CAROLINA. However, in the two years that I have stayed here; it has gone straight downhill. I checked in late Saturday night (22-October-2011). While bringing my belongings into the first floor room #121; I witnessed drug use in the parking lot and other riff-raff walking about. People were partying loudly and were constantly going in and out of rooms. I stopped one guy from stealing an orange traffic cone near a parked truck.
When I woke up Sunday morning, I got out of the shower to find that there were absolutely no towels and wash cloths in the room and bathroom! I had to air dry. Maybe I should have noticed this when I first checked into the room (#121), but it was late and I was tired. I also took it for granted that there would be towels. When I saw housekeeping at another room; I politely told her the situation, but she looked at me like I was from Mars. The desk staff was not much more helpful, but I finally got towels for the next day.
There was also a cockroach walking on the wall, rusty towel racks and fittings, and the kleenex container fell out of the wall. I photographed all of the aforementioned and they are posted here. When I brought all these issues up to the desk staff during check-out; they should not have charged me for at least Saturday night (the first of my two night stay). But I did not suggest it and they certainly did not make any offers to do so, or any apologies either. Beware of this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james w, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey regarding your stay October 2011. I want to apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. I assure you that our guests’ safety and comfort is of great concern to our entire staff. We take all of your issues seriously and have an extensive room program to maintain our rooms in top condition. Please call me if you would like to discuss your experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Great beds! Room furniture could use an upgrade but the beds make up for it by far! Decent location - Target plaza across street. Great staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were looking for a hotel that would accept my pet and not charge an additional non refundable fee. We love driving to the coast for a weekend Pad-a-cure for out pet. It is only 3 hours from our home but we don't always want to make it a long day trip. This hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and they had a decent cup of coffee and breakfast. It was also very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty Mae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astor, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were back in Wilmington and when we are in town we have no problem staying here. As I mentioned in previous reviews we like the pet policy that Red Roof Inns have.
This property has never disappointed us. The rate is reasonable, the room is clean, the shower works very well and what I also noticed this time was how quiet the room was. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. In the closet was an iron and an ironing board, something we had no use for but if someone need it, it was there.
The next time we are in Wilmington, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 km away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#32 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
0.4 km away
Extended Stay America - Wilmington - New Centre Drive
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Address: 5107 Market Street, Wilmington, NC 28405
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,965 - ₹ 8,536
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing