We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We chose the Clarendon Inn through Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful place to stay when visting Wilmington. Michael, the Innkeeper, his wife and staff are so welcoming and absolutely lovely, providing us with all sorts of information during our 3 day stay, they were so helpful.

Our room, the Green Room, was stunning, elegant yet relaxed with a very comfortable bed, beautiful decor and a great bathroom and shower. The Inn is spotless.

We loved the extra touches, Gilchrist and Soames Shower and Bath products, complimentary water, ice when we needed it, and a range of glasses and utensils for the use of guests.
The business centre had a good supply of guide books, novels, dvds etc...and access to the intenet was free.

The breakfasts are more than adequate and Michael's spicy tomato juice was a big hit for us, as were the Morning Star vegetarian sausage patties (cooked by a secret method!).

The Clarendon has a lovely rear garden seating area and front outside porch, with swing seats and water features, where you can enjoy and evening drink and watch the world go by.

We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely, lovely accommodation to anyone who is looking to stay somewhere with individuality, style, and character, on site parking and all the comforts you could possibly want (or need) during your stay in Wilmington!

Room Tip: We didn't experience any noise from our room - all rooms are ground floor, and all decorated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
133
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My time there was thoroughly delightful. My room was large and lovely, with all the conveniences such as fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. I was there for a three-day reunion with friends from high school and we were given a "Bonus Room" where we could visit and talk, over snacks. Our innkeeper Michael, his wife Glenda, and their charming chihuahua, Dame Judi, all made our visit very special. For breakfast, Michael fixed us hard-boiled eggs, biscuits, vegetarian sausage, plus coffee, juices, yogurt, peanut butter, and toast: Truly sumptuous! The location was superb, minutes walk from waterfront restaurants. There was even a place near by where I could get my New York Times! As a professor my grade is : A plus! Fairfid M. Caudle

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good, with unique decor for each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairfid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is my favourite place for over 2 years now. Every time I'm staying here I'm in another room and each of them are decorated different, so lovely, and lets not forget clean!
The innkeeper, Michael, and his staff are making you feel at home! Nothing is too much for him, like that time he took me to late night shopping when my luggae did not arrive and I had to dress up for a meeting the next day.

Room Tip: All of them are fine, each having a different style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakobknol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Our 2 night stay was wonderful. Michael, the Inn keeper, was charming, available, and knowlegable. Transportation choices were terrific and many interests within walking distance. Rooms are lovely and very clean and lots of special touches.
Mary and Dick

Room Tip: a couple rooms are quite small. we had the only 2 bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

A very attractive room, genial innkeeper, location in the heart of historic Wilmington. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is unique--use the website to see a 360 view of each room and pick what looks good to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#25 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,394 - ₹ 16,447
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing