We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely the BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #2 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here in late November. I can't say enough good about this place, the innkeepers, the location, the cleanliness, the room decor. ALL FIVE STARS! The Innkeeper is so personable and helpful. I am picky about Inns, but nothing below a five star rating on any part of this place. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
134
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CHarleston SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My fiance & I stayed here for a weekend night for a short overnight trip. The Inn itself is very clean and well decorated, the rooms are all very nice & there is plenty of privacy. We thought the price was very reasonable and its location (we were walking everywhere downtown/on the river front) is perfect! Michael's breakfast was delicious, including his wife's homemade mini muffins! Michael was very accommodating and welcoming & is very responsive to questions/emails, etc. & the place really felt comfortable and quiet and was exactly what we were looking for! Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: We chose a room on the opposite side of the "bonus room," thinking it'd be quieter sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn5215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We are continually humbled by the very kind words of our guest. "Thank you" just does not seem adequate to convey our heartfelt appreciation for your kindness.

Just a reminder that Wilmington is a beautiful place to spend a few days or a weekend during the Holiday season. The beautiful historic downtown business area and historic homes are all beautifully decorated, the carriage ride is being pulled by horses disquised as reindeer and the Clarendon Inn is decked out in its finest Holiday decor. Come on....lets enjoy the Holidays together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Clarendon recently and couldn't have been more pleased. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of downtown Wilmington and within walking distance to many local eateries and shops. You are only 3 blocks from the Cape Fear River Walk as well. Our room was very nice, quiet, and comfortable. Michael, the innkeeper, was extremely friendly and cooked us a great breakfast in the morning. He has a ton of knowledge about Wilmington and is very enthusiastic about his job. I would definitely recommend the Clarendon to anyone. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Can't begin to say enough about the Clarendon Inn. We booked the entire inn for family for our daughter's wedding. Can't say how personal and warm it felt to be in a place where we could all gather together before and after the events of each day. Michael was incredible to work with everything - arranging the reservations, the lovely breakfasts each morning, sharing details and tidbits about what to do and where to go outside of our wedding details, etc. Felt like he was part of the family. The rooms are beautifully decorated and all attention to detail is paid and does not go unnoticed.

Room Tip: They're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is our second visit to the Clarendon Inn and again it did not disappoint. It is difficult to add to the rave reviews of others, but there are a few things that travelers might consider. Many B&Bs have steps...lots of steps. The Clarendon boasts a secure off-street parking lot that provides entry to the common areas and to the rooms all on a single floor. The outdoor patio with tables and chairs, although attached to the parking area, is totally secluded through well-placed vines, shrubs and hanging plants. A great place to have lunch. The front porch has several seating areas and swings - sit and have a glass of wine or watch horse-drawn carriages mosey down the street. Each clean and meticulous room is tastefully decorated and there is an assortment of bed types - enough to please any traveler. Bathrooms include carefully placed handbars, a long glass shelf over the sink and toilet, a free-standing table and enough towel bars to accomodate wet and dry towels. Last, but certainly not least, is the keeper of the inn, Michael Pryor whose hand can be seen in every aspect of the operation. After checkout he visits each room to note what needs to be done to bring the room up to his exacting standards. He is truly an ambassador for the city of Wilmington and although there is a large selection of brochures from which to choose...ask Michael first. He is a walking encyclopaedia on all things Wilmington. Ditto for the restaurants. Tell him what you like to eat and he will point you in the right direction. You won't be disappointed. I second the nomination to vote Michael "Innkeeper of the Year." It is a recognition that is well deserved.

Room Tip: Before making reservations call the innkeeper Michael Pryer.. he will make sure the room matches you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardshell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
10.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.1 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,991 - ₹ 16,506
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing