We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MainStay Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$ 160
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 141
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 134
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$ 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 158
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 146
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
42
28
15
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
28
15
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtking bedfirst floorcarolina beachcouchstovedowntowncomfortnclinens
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have stayed here several times, it is a short drive to Wrightsville Beach, walking distance to several restaurants, the smaller unit we were in was comfortable for two adults and two children, the kitchenette was adequate. The kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was really nice, especially the lady that keeps the breakfast area! She was taking drinks to disabled people and was helping moms with kids as well as keeping the area clean and stocked. The people is what makes this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our employees are what makes the difference. We appreciate the wonderful comments and I will pass them on to the staff as well. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed only one night in the efficiency . This room sleeps 6 comfortably. It is actually two rooms one with 2 queen beds and one room with a kitchenette a recliner and pull out sofa. Each room has a very nice flat screen TV. The kitchen has a refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. A few utensils and dishes , I think there were 2 mugs and 2 of each utensil. There is an icemaker in the freezer. the room was very clean and the sheets were clean as well. No mattress covers , but the mattresses were clean I am very OCD about checking for stains and bed bugs. The mattresses appeared fairly new. The continental breakfast was decent. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. the value was very good for the area. We were there on June 10 and the room with tax was $111.

It is only a short drive , maybe 3 miles from wrightsville beach and maybe 15 from Carolina and Kure beaches. There are lots of restaurants in the area and several that deliver.
I would definitely stay here again. There is also a very nice patio area with several grills .

The only drawbacks would be the odor of cigarettes in the hall ( which was not overly strong) and we did hear a dog barking . The cig smell did not bother me , but to someone with allergies it may be a problem. It would be beneficial if one floor was designated for dogs.
It appears there have been many upgrades and the manager stated they were working on getting new furniture in all the rooms. Our room appeared to have fairly new furniture. The bathtub was spotless and looked brand new. We did have to request sheets for the pull out , but no big deal .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 216. We could see the pool from our window which was nice when our teenagers wanted to go to the pool , but we did not. The pool is a bit small and shared with the motel next door . It was not crowded on the day we were there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and feedback. We will take this information and use it to make your next visit even more memorable. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed one night this past week. Facility was first rate ...clean and modern. Room and kitchen were immaculate. Breakfast was very well done. Shared pool with Sleep inn next door. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Many good restaurants located within walking distance(Olive Garden , Bonefish Grill, etc). Plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinJim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate all of the feedback from our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Horrible place! Vomit in elevator, pot smoke in hall came in our room around door, sleeper sofa mattress was torn to the point that the insides were falling out! Told by front desk clerk that manager would be back monday and I could talk to him then! Really?!? We were there for fri thru sun! Not the most help to talk to him about moving rooms once we returned home! Nasty place, nasty employee, waste of money and time. Never again!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclairandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

I apologize for any inconvemience you had at the MainStay Suites. We strive to offer the very best in accommodations to all of our guests and want them to have the very best experience possible. We will take this information and make sure that your next visit is a delightful one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My family stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The double queen bed suite was perfect... it was like a small apartment. The few negatives were: 1 of the 2 burners on the stove didn't work (I only cooked once so it wasn't a huge inconvenience) and smoking and non-smoking rooms were located on the same floor, but not right next to each other. (Every once in a while there was a faint smell of smoke in the hallway, but there was absolutely no smell of smoke in our room.) The positives: the room had a great setup, staff was friendly and accomodating, perfect location... a lot of restaurants, stores, fast food joints, bars and within 30 minutes of the Carolina Beach boardwalk, the continental breakfast was what we expected... cereal, donuts, yogurt, coffee, juice, waffles, fruit and microwavable sausage biscuits. Nothing fancy, but, was more than enough to satisfy our appetites. ... Sidebar: the elevator made some noise when it moved, but it was no biggy. And yes, the pool was shared with the Sleep Inn next door, but it was in very close proximity to the main entrance of the hotel... no big deal at all.

Overall, we had a good experience and plan on staying there again in the future. In life, you get what you pay for and I've stayed in many hotels and I can honestly say that for the price of our stay, we were very happy with the accomadations.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyGirlMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your valuable comments. We strive to offer our guests the very best in accommodations and will take the information you provided to make sure that your future stay with us as well as our other guests will be flawless. Thank you again for you comments and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews