We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good family value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The staff was courteous. Room size was just right for a family of four, but there was room for up to 6. The separate bedroom was spacious with two queens and a large closet. There was a separate television in the bedroom, which came in handy when we visited with a friend in the 'living room' area one night. The couch was a pull out double.

The kitchen had a two-burner stovetop and a modern microwave. There were not enough utensils, pots (one large fry pan with lid) or plateware/glassware for four, so bring those items if you will plan to cook your meals. The full-sized fridge was plenty cool and had an ice maker. Bring dish soap and sponge.

Although the room was adequately clean, the furniture was grimy, especially the kitchen chairs. We asked for extra towels to lay on the seats. The beds were clean and the sheets were soft. I have a son with eczema, so I'm picky about the sheets. They didn't seem to use harsh chemicals to wash that most hotels use. The towels were also soft.

The breakfast had healthy selections like hard boiled eggs and yogurt and the breakfast area was well stocked and maintained. There were only three four-top tables and two two-tops, so it was tricky getting a place to sit for breakfast, especially with a larger family.
There was a nice patio area which is cool in the evening. there are two grills out there and one four seat table. The grills were filthy, so bring your own utensils and foil.

Overall, it was a good choice for family value. I'd say that cleanliness was the only issue I saw. We were pleased with the service, value and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the MainStay Suites Wilmington, your feedback helps us better serve our guest in the future. We take great pride in making sure each of our guest are satisfied with the accomodations,service and overall guest expierence at our hotel. We look forward to serving you again at the MainStay Suites Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
36
14
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have stayed here several times, it is a short drive to Wrightsville Beach, walking distance to several restaurants, the smaller unit we were in was comfortable for two adults and two children, the kitchenette was adequate. The kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was really nice, especially the lady that keeps the breakfast area! She was taking drinks to disabled people and was helping moms with kids as well as keeping the area clean and stocked. The people is what makes this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our employees are what makes the difference. We appreciate the wonderful comments and I will pass them on to the staff as well. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed only one night in the efficiency . This room sleeps 6 comfortably. It is actually two rooms one with 2 queen beds and one room with a kitchenette a recliner and pull out sofa. Each room has a very nice flat screen TV. The kitchen has a refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. A few utensils and dishes , I think there were 2 mugs and 2 of each utensil. There is an icemaker in the freezer. the room was very clean and the sheets were clean as well. No mattress covers , but the mattresses were clean I am very OCD about checking for stains and bed bugs. The mattresses appeared fairly new. The continental breakfast was decent. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. the value was very good for the area. We were there on June 10 and the room with tax was $111.

It is only a short drive , maybe 3 miles from wrightsville beach and maybe 15 from Carolina and Kure beaches. There are lots of restaurants in the area and several that deliver.
I would definitely stay here again. There is also a very nice patio area with several grills .

The only drawbacks would be the odor of cigarettes in the hall ( which was not overly strong) and we did hear a dog barking . The cig smell did not bother me , but to someone with allergies it may be a problem. It would be beneficial if one floor was designated for dogs.
It appears there have been many upgrades and the manager stated they were working on getting new furniture in all the rooms. Our room appeared to have fairly new furniture. The bathtub was spotless and looked brand new. We did have to request sheets for the pull out , but no big deal .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 216. We could see the pool from our window which was nice when our teenagers wante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and feedback. We will take this information and use it to make your next visit even more memorable. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed one night this past week. Facility was first rate ...clean and modern. Room and kitchen were immaculate. Breakfast was very well done. Shared pool with Sleep inn next door. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Many good restaurants located within walking distance(Olive Garden , Bonefish Grill, etc). Plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate all of the feedback from our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Horrible place! Vomit in elevator, pot smoke in hall came in our room around door, sleeper sofa mattress was torn to the point that the insides were falling out! Told by front desk clerk that manager would be back monday and I could talk to him then! Really?!? We were there for fri thru sun! Not the most help to talk to him about moving rooms once we returned home! Nasty place, nasty employee, waste of money and time. Never again!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclairandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
I apologize for any inconvemience you had at the MainStay Suites. We strive to offer the very best in accommodations to all of our guests and want them to have the very best experience possible. We will take this information and make sure that your next visit is a delightful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.4 km away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#26 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
0.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 5229 Market St, Hwy 132 & US 17, Wilmington, NC 28405-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,191 - ₹ 10,851
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Wilmington
Mainstay Wilmington
Wilmington Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing