We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inn”
Review of Front Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Front Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Just got back from spending five nights at this Inn.....It was wonderful. Richard, Polly and their son Chris were amazing. Nice breakfast in the mornings with nice selection of breads, fruits, cereal and a hot dish with juices and coffee. The location is perfect, just a very short walk to the river, restaurants and activities. We were so glad this was our choice for a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Nutcracker.....small but had everything we needed. Several choices so just check them out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dino2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

I stayed here for a girlfriend getaway - we chose it because of the location right in town. The rooms that we chose are on the second floor. Very spacious and well appointed, though not modernized. The beds are comfortable and each of these rooms featured a jacuzzi tub that we didn't use.

My only complaint was a light that shone in the window all night. When I asked if it could be turned off the next night the response was essentially "can't you unscrew a light bulb?" which I thought was not particularly kind or helpful.

Because of the location right on Front Street, there is quite a bit of road noise as well as lights coming in the windows so plan accordingly with earplugs and eye masks.

There is a nice breakfast each morning and coffee in the rooms. Overall it was a good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If accessibility is an issue be sure to mention that up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn-in-Chapel-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Stayed for one night in March of this year (on a weekend...and they were nice enough to
let us book for only one night since we made a last minute reservation). Very cute inn with a great location, close to restaurants and many beautiful, historic homes. Room was clean and bright with high ceilings. Breakfast the next morning was lovely! We would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We found Front Street Inn through a B&B site. We reserved two weekend nights here in April 2017. The location is excellent, one block from Water St., and the building is historic. We were disappointed to find the staff and overall atmosphere here less than warm. Not at all like the B&B experiences we've had elsewhere.

At no time did any staff member say anything along the lines of "Welcome". When we found someone to check us in, it was evident that the task she was engaged in at the time was a priority and we had interrupted her.

After our first night, we decided to eat the cost of the second night and stay elsewhere. The most conversation we had with either owner or any staff member was at checkout regarding our reason for leaving a day early.

If you are expecting a traditional B&B breakfast, you will likely be disappointed. Despite the owner's statement to the contrary, it's the very definition of a continental breakfast: Serve yourself during the time frame it's available, includes toaster items and spreads, juices, fresh fruit, hot coffee, cereal, yogurts, etc. No eggs or proteins of any sort.

Front Street Inn is more like a hotel experience, albeit an expensive one, and not even as welcoming as the hotel we moved to the second night. For the money, better locations right on the river, with better accommodations, are readily available. Even on a busy holiday weekend, we had no trouble finding a room on the river, for less money, with friendly staff, and better breakfast. We do not plan to return to Front Street Inn.

We rated the Sleep Quality as Poor due to the noise from traffic all night on Front Street. Our room was two room back from from the front of the inn, and the noise from passing cars sounded like the windows in our room were open when they were closed.

We rated the Service as Poor because, in terms of the friendliness of the staff, it was not even average, which was the next available rating.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank everett330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Owner at Front Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

We thank our guests for their feedback. Since we strive to make every guest experience a pleasant experience with 100% satisfaction, I personally apologize if you felt anything but welcome here at the Front Street Inn. Moreover, I'm sorry to hear you had a less-than-wonderful night sleep. Had you given us the opportunity to make other arrangements for you, like a suite in the rear of the inn, we would have exceeded your expectations!

Although we are centrally located in the heart of Wilmington's historic downtown business and entertainment district, and some of our rooms face Front Street, we have had very few (perhaps one or two) "concerns" about the street noise. Most of our guests who stay in those rooms comment about how little street noise they actually hear despite being so close to the road.

Some of your other comments, however, are quite perplexing to me. First, The Front Street Inn has operated for nearly 25 years as a bed & breakfast inn. If, by "traditional" you mean we all eat together at one large table at one appointed time, and our rooms are filled with Victorian fixtures and lace...then by your definition we most certainly are NOT a "traditional" b&b. Our style is much more eclectic and, as some have noted, is reminiscent of Key West or a casual European-inspired inn.

Second, WE DO have a wonderful homemade full buffet breakfast conveniently available from 8AM to 10AM daily. Calling it a "continental breakfast ...with toaster items" is not only a fabrication, it's insulting to me and to all the reviewers who rave about the breakfast. Perhaps you felt hyperbole would strengthen your case? As you can read from other Trip Advisor reviews, the breakfast ALWAYS includes eggs and other protein (usually in the form of a quiche), among other favorites. I have to say...that comment, especially, is just not accurate (again, as the majority of other Trip Advisor reviews will attest).

I know potential guests will read all the reviews and judge for themselves if this bed & breakfast inn and boutique hotel is the right choice for them. I thank Tripadvisor for the opportunity to give my perspective!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at the Front Street Inn as a Birthday getaway! We loved everything about it. The room was amazing, ( we had the Hemingway ) from the bed to the balcony it was just perfect! Polly's breakfast in the morning was fantastic, fresh, not to be missed. The location is within walking distance to everything, and we loved this history of the building itself. Dick and Polly make you feel like your part of the family! We can wait to go back and visit again!

Room Tip: We had the Hemingway which is on the 2nd floor in the Front with a private balcony and we Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShipandChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#17 of 45 in Wilmington
1,487 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Wilmington Riverfront
0.3 km away
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: ₹ 9,916 - ₹ 13,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Front Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Front Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing