We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
115
34
24
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
34
24
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruth chris city view bell hop valet parking attendants great location hilton family front desk excellent hotel self parking great view of the river the river walk stayed here for one night per day cotton exchange cleaning staff top floor staff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 191 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I along with two other couples just spent three nights at this hotel. Our rooms were on the sixth floor with a great view of the river and battleship. The sunsets were amazing as the river reflected all the colors in the sky. The hotel is right on the river walk and is the perfect location to walk to all the shops and restaurants. Our room was newly renovated and clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was equipped with everything you would need and also had been recently renovated. My only complaint and the reason I did not rate this a five is that it took about thirty minutes to check in. After traveling for ten hours, we would have liked a quicker check in to the hotel. Our room was ready but there was a long line waiting to talk to the staff. The only recommendation I would make to improve the room would be a mini fridge. However everything else was great and we all enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Ballast. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the amazing view from your room and that our wonderful location was ideal for you. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at the check-in. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you all again in the near future.

Thank you,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The road in front of the hotel was partly closed when we arrived so figuring out how to get to the valet parking was a pain. The front desk was still being renovated, so check-in was at a makeshift front desk. The staff was so warm, helpful, and welcoming, it didn't matter that they were at tables at a temporary spot. Check-in couldn't have been smoother even if they were at the new front desk. The breakfast was explained and all of the room renovations and hallways were complete. Great new look. Room was clean, comfortable, and with little things like usb ports in multiple locations which make a difference. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable. We had a river view room which was nice. Wish we could have stayed longer.

You can walk right out to the riverwalk, Close to restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was good as well. All of the staff that I encountered couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. As nice as the room was, the staff really made the stay outstanding. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a higher floor with a river view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Teresa, it was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Hotel Ballast. Our team works hard to create a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, so we're happy you experienced that during your stay. Reviews like yours mean the world to our associates and we will definitely share your compliments with them. Thanks for choosing us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews