We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumpy, needs major renovation”
Review of Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williamston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dumpy, needs major renovation”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Everything is second rate, towels paper thin, outside needs paint and repair. Was ok in 1968..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a former holiday inn property that probably could have updated to keep its name but why would they in this small town of Williamston were everything used to be something else. Anyway, it is clean and friendly...and the best part is the very reasonable priced(cheap) breakfast served right on the property. It is fresh and served by these seniors weraing white dress clothes who know their stuff. It is not included with the hotel saty but it doesn't cost much. It is so good that many of the locals come thier just for the breakfast. My family is froma a small town nearby but we always stay here for the friendlies, barbaque down the street but mostly the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsFroggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice motel with restaurant and bar/lounge onsite. Prices were not the greatest for any of the three. Staff members were not very friendly but rooms and motel itself were very clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obxtraveler9410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Large rooms, friendly, clean, reasonably priced, no charge for my big poodle. Good on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank rog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel one night. Since we did not have reservations, we relied on the AAA "3 diamonds" rating of this hotel.
Upon arrival we were "greeted" by an unfriendly person at the front desk. The room and the furniture were pretty shabby. There was only one towel in the bathroom. I tried to call the front desk - no response. We had to go there (to the front desk) to get another towel. There was no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion. The bed seemed to be clean, and was comfortable. The internet signal was really weak. The rate (which was not cheap considering this hotel) did not include breakfast. We took one look at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel and lost our appetite...
I cannot imagine how can the AAA designate it as "3 diamonds". One diamond is more like it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LovestotravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#3 of 6 in Williamston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Days Inn Williamston
Days Inn Williamston
#4 of 6 in Williamston
2.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
27.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
29.5 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Property: Magnuson Hotel
Address: 101 E Boulevard, Williamston, NC 27892-2657 (Formerly Inn at Moratoc)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Williamston
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,083 - ₹ 5,055
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Moratoc Williamston, North Carolina hotel is located one mile north of the intersection at 17 and 64. 'We are large enough to meet your needs, but small enough to know your name.' We welcome travelers from near and far to beautiful Williamston NC. You will find all the charms of a small town with big adventures. Williamston, NC, has excellent weather for all outdoor ventures such as fishing, hunting and a cruise on the Roanoke River. Our full service hotel features The Moratoc Restaurant, famous for its home cooking, excellent service and banana fritters. The Sandtrap Lounge offers a full variety of mixed beverages, beer and wine. Local businesses and attractions include Penco, Martin General Hospital, Yarn Mill (Fruit of the Loom), Senator Bob Martin Ag Center, Deadwood, Fort Branch, Domtar and the Martin Community College.Nearby cities include:Greenville NC, Plymouth NC, Edenton NC, Washington NC, Tarboro NC and Windsor NC. All rooms are cozy and easily accessible for those looking for the 'down and outs.' We are your home away from home while in Williamston, NC. Stop by and stay awhile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Moratoc Hotel Williamston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing