We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip to Waynesville”
Review of Chef's Table

Chef's Table
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Anniversary Trip to Waynesville”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had dinner at the Chef's table. The menu was wonderful!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    91
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic Duck”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

loved the food! Great duck- can't remember when I have had better. Excellent wine selection and we asked for soemthing that was not on the regular wine list.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dive4pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

I was very skeptical when I read rave reviews about this restaurant; however, we decided to give it a try, and we were blown away. Believe the 5-star reviews. This place can hold its own against the best big-city food emporiums.

The young chef, Josh Monroe, is a genuine food and wine progedy. He uses the finest ingredients, much of it locally grown or raised, and turns out gustatorial delights. Every dish my wife and I tasted was outstanding. The wine list is extensive and sophisticated.

Our wait person was attentive and efficient. We dined there on a Tuesday evening so it wasn't extremely busy. I can't say how the service would be on a weekend night. Josh came by to check on us, and he was very personable.

The bottom line, don't miss Chef's Table if you find yourself anywhere in the vicinity of Waynesville, NC. You won't be sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aJetJockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The atmosphere, friendliness, food, preparation was EXCELLENT

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank couldbeme1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

To say that this was the best place I have ever eaten at is a huge understatement. Our experience started when we called to make reservations (which is highly recommended). I asked the gentleman if there was a dress code since my Husband and I were coming from the golf course and his reply was "some people come in a tux, some come in shorts, it's whatever you're comfortable with." We were not treated any differently based on our attire. The 28 year old chef is also the owner and I will tell you he is an amazing cook (another understatement). Since they are only open for dinner, he is always the one making your food. We started with the calamari which came with something other than the traditional marinara; instead it came with a very creamy, delicious sauce made by the chef. Next, we shared a salad, I forgot the name of it but it was grilled, yes grilled, with bacon and a house dressing. Again, something different, mouthwatering, and delicious. For our main course, I had the chicken curry with a hint of coconut which came with asparagus and my Husband had the filet mignon both of which were so extremely mouth watering. The chicken that I had was the most tender chicken I have ever put in my mouth and the sauce on my dish was delicious. My Husband was nice enough to share a small bite of his meal and it was equally tasteful. Our server was phenomenal as well and very knowledgable but beware, he makes every dish sound great so if you're having trouble making up your mind he will make it harder. There were two other couples sitting in the front room with us and they were all raving about their dishes as well I highly recommend this restaurant! You will NOT be disappointed at all!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mintert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef's Table also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing