We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful View, Yet still close to town.”
other travellers have booked this property
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Large covered deck with room to entertain Real wood burning fireplace with beautiful hand laid stone hearth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
view of the valley from the large end of the deck
Large covered deck with room to entertain
Real wood burning fireplace with beautiful hand laid stone hearth
Partial view of the living area from the loft.
You are above the fog layer that settles on the Valley in the morning
Extraordinary shadows are ever changing the look of the valley all day long
Attention all dogs. Tell your 2 legged companions that you love to romp in the snow too!!
All along the Valley that you look at from the deck is the beautiful and relaxing Jonathan Creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waynesville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoraRH
Mary Esther, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Yet still close to town.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a clean, well decorated, great amenities cabin. The owner Jeff W is extremely helpful and prompt in his responses. I recommend using the Tanner Trail entrance with the road in front of the cabin. It is much easier to travel. Love the hummingbirds. Could hear small amount of road noise, but we were so close to Maggie Valley and Waynesville, that it was worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the layout of the cabin and the full size washer and dryer
Liked least: road noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaydevin2
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cabin”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful Cabin with a great view. Never had any issues with anything in the cabin. Heat worked great. We had our 18 year old and 11 year old who loved it as well. It snowed just about the entire time we were. The view is beautiful. Only 30 minutes from Asheville, an hour to Gatlinburg and 10 minutes from Cataloochie Ski Resort. In my opinion the perfect location. Maggie Valley and Waynesville are both beautiful places, with a lot of local charm and places to eat.
I picked up some De-Ice from ACE Hardware in Waynesville for the small section of asphalt in the driveway, and never had any trouble getting in and out. It can be an intimidating road to the cabin, if you have never been off road much, but it is a solid gravel/rock road, even with a couple of inches of snow on the road, had no trouble with AWD Yukon. If you are nervous about gravel, look at the cabin on google maps and there is a second way in with a paved road all the way up the mountain except about the last 100 ft or so to the cabin.
Either way, we wanted a secluded feeling cabin "off the beaten path" with a beautiful view and thats what we got. Yes, you do drive past a couple trailers at the very bottom of the hill to get to it, but you never see them again once you drive past them. But if that is that much of an issue, just pass Whispering Wind Rd to Tanner Trl. Take Tanner Trl to the top and turn on Ron Ridge and the top of Whispering Wind is the first gravel road off to the right. I just bring that up because of the other reviews on the cabin.
There is no misrepresentation and Jeff is quick to respond and very helpful with any issue you may have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View and central location.
Liked least: Really have no complaints. The cabin is just as advertised.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carolina...
Advance, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful respite!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

What a lovely home tucked at the top of a mountain! My husband and I stayed here while attending a conference at nearby Lake Junaluska. The cabin had everything we needed for a home away from home. The views from the deck are beautiful. We ate breakfast and dinner outside every meal. We were able to visit downtown Waynesville and Maggie Valley in just minutes. The wireless connection was perfect as I had to work our first two days. The road up is a mountain road, but Jeff's instructions were great for steering my Malibu. We hope to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_martin6...
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Heaven”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough to come across Whispering Winds while looking for a place to stay near Waynesville. Upon arrival, the very first thing one notices is the view. It is absolutely heaven! When you go into the cabin, the pictures of it don't do it justice. It has wonderful windows and glass doors which allows you to see such a beautiful vista. There is a long deck and larger connected deck which gives you many choices of where you wish to sit. The larger deck is covered and it's wonderful to sit there while it rains. The kitchen with the immense island has all the needed items to prepare dishes there instead of going out to eat. We enjoyed the large king sized bed with the mountain view at our feet. Although we spent only three nights there, we wished it could have been far more and will look forward to possibly going again. It's a little difficult to access, but well worth the effort. If you go, there is a wonderful Ingles grocery very close by that provides everything you might need. It's best to go there first for once you arrive at the cabin, you surely won't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing