We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrival Night on the OBX”

Watermen's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Waves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a spot for dinner after unloading at the beach house. Found this place checking reviews online. Arrived right at sunset and their location has an unobstructed, front row seat. Friendly staff and great service. I had the Blackened Mahi-mahi dinner with garlic mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables. One of the best seafood dinners that I have ever had on the OBX! Check them out!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Propjockey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Little bit different food for a beach restaurant.. No fried foods at all maybe trying to be healthier?? Crab cakes ok but some weird seasoning not totally to my taste but i ate them.. Wonderful mashed potatoes that came nice and hot which is difficult to find guess most are premade and in a steam table and not hot enough for me... There vegetables are stir fried zuchini with some onions and mushrooms with wonderful seasoning delicious.. So side dishes good ... main entree so-so... gaucomole also so-so with thicker tortilla chips to me that taste a little stale and i like thinner 1s...My husband had a hamburger he said was ok but not need to return again for another .. in other words nothing special and beans and corn salad also just ok...Service was friend and prompt but you have to take a seat and go up to a counter to place your order then they deliver... Like hubby said it was ok but would not look to return..

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Zelda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Delicious food, friendly and attentive staff, great atmosphere! Orders are taken at the bar and then food is brought to your table. Indoor and outdoor seating. Music and the beautiful view make it a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a great meal. I look forward to returning!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sawh316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We read the reviews on trip advisor and they looked good, a bit pricey, but we will try it. We went and walked in and it's picnic table seating, you order at the bar and they bring the food out to your table. Again a bit apprehensive, just based on the price. I ordered the seafood platter, yummo their tarter sauce is out of this world, they make it with horseradish, which amps up the flavor of the fish. My husband had the special, full rack of ribs, which he said was delicious!! They have inside and outside dining at the picnic tables, pets are allowed outside. And if anyone is doing it you can view the kite boarding. Looks like there is a canal, so you can drive your jet ski up, park it and eat. At the end it is worth the price, the food is great!! Service was great as well.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank bethm840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

They apparently the Kite Surfing capital of the east coast. They have an outside set up of picnic tables where you can eat and watch the surfers. It is awesome at sunset. We ordered the grilled tuna and also a crab cake sandwich. Also had a pound of steamed shrimp. The tuna sand was perfect in every way. Grilled medium rare and a little spicy. The crab cake sand had great taste but was mushy and hard to eat. The shrimp were disappointing, They were not fresh as they had that slight smell of preservative or something on them. Will probably just go for drinks next time.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watermen's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Waves, Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to Watermen's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing