We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
19
26
20
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
26
20
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiddie poolwillow valleynine hole golf coursereal fireplacetwin bedshuge indoorspent a weekwasher and dryergrandfather mountainboone ncshort drivefull bathlinville cavernsbit datedhot tubsugar mountainup to date
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Vintage 50's resort. Sinks are Very small in bathrooms and less than 3 ft. High. No standard amenities: washer machine detergent, coffee, shampoo, and a stove with coil stove top burners and aluminum foil. No ceiling fan in bedrooms. No tv in MBR. Not up to Interval international standards. Only good thing is the setting. My advice: keep looking.

Two stars is generous.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AnneDelVillano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Fabulous pool. Wonderful golf course. Good laundry place. We were very happy at Willow Valley Resort. My GPS lead us to it and PAST it. It was very quiet. We had all we needed to be happy there. It had a nice but small kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The resort is just outside of Boone, which offers peace and tranquility, yet a short drive to downtown Boone. There are many attractions and shopping stores within a reasonable distance. This resort has it's own golf course, as well as a huge indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, and kiddie pool. It also has outdoor grills and picnic areas. The best part is that since it is a vacation rental, there are usually many units available even around holidays. I highly recommend this resort because of it's central location to neighboring towns.

Room Tip: Ask when you book your reservation what units are available, ex: cabins, studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, etc.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Don't make the mistake we did. This resort is poorly run/overseen. Spent a week in cabin 4 & we seriously doubted that any more than a VERY cursory check was done of the place before we moved in. 4-5 light bulbs were out, including both on the (steep!) stairway to upstairs--- NOT safe for adults much less kids!--- Dishwasher ran once, then never again. We reported this 1 day, were told someone would come to look at it the next day (never did), & when they finally showed up on day 3, the "repairman" offered to give us a sledgehammer for it. How professional! This non-working dishwasher provided us with a leak under the kitchen sick which was never fixed while we were there, either. Front screen door was broken, allowing bugs in. Back door and one of the bedroom doors did not close properly. Tennis courts were roped off. "Merry-go-round" on the playground apparently had never been oiled; it did not work. Upstairs screen was off the runner, so opening the window opened it for all sorts of bugs. While the person in the front office seemed nice, it was quite apparent that they had little or no support/staff. My advice: you can do a LOT better elsewhere for this kind of money!!! These people need to get out of the rental business.

Room Tip: NOT cabin 4 if you want a dishwasher & don't want steep steps to the cabin
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terry486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We were in unit g111 a 2bedroom condo. We had a balcony and views were great. Ingles is a short drive away and is a very friendly grocery store. The kitchen is a good size and the front office will loan you a crock pot. The water pressure is excellent. Visiting the first week of April 2017, we bought some fire logs at ingles to burn in the fireplace but you can also buy actual firewood literally everywhere. This resort is centrally located to many attractions. We went to Grand Father Mountain. We recommend you do not miss the fudge shop amongst all the other things to do up there. Then we went to Linville Caverns and also Linville Falls. But the highlight of our week was a tour of apple hill farms which is an Alpaca farm. They also have chickens, a rescued pig, 2 horses, and angora goats which are sheared for their mohair 2x a year. Whereas the alpaca are sheared only once a year. Guarding the herds are an assortment of dogs, some scicilain guard donkeys and some guard/attack llamas. So the alpaca and goats are well guarded from potential predators. We came away very entertained, educated and owners of 2 alpaca dryer balls from the gift shop which replace dryer sheets and last 3 to 5 years. There was a few days of bad weather but we were not unhappy to be stuck in the condo with a fire burning and board games and 2 tvs. We had planned to be at the season opening of the tweetsie RR but it was windy and bitterly cold so we did not go. Tweetsie is the type of RR that was common in this part of the highlands hence that is why the park is named tweetsie. Do not hesitate to book a vacation at willow valley resort. FYI we did not utilize it but there is an indoor swimming pool and hot tub available for use.

Room Tip: Lower floor will have a bit of noise from floor above it. Most condo you have steep stairs to navigate either up or down but good handrails.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews