We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Relaxing Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Vista Gallery and Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alta Vista Gallery and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 7 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

If you're trying to decide where to stay in the Boone, Blowing Rock, Linville, Banner Elk area of the beautiful North Carolina mountains, just pick up the phone and call Lee and Maria to book your stay at Alta Vista. From the moment I arrived, I felt so relaxed and taken care of. I can't remember the last time I felt so completely relaxed. Lee and Maria really do think of every little detail, and they are wonderful, very authentic people - you can't help but enjoy their company.

The gallery is a wonderful setting because you're surrounded by beautiful paintings and the blue room that we stayed in felt like we were in a treehouse! Lee learned to cook poached eggs just because I said that's my favorite breakfast and he did a beautiful job! We highly recommend Alta Vista.

  • Liked — Lee and Maria
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spinsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2007

The Alta Vista BandB is certainly in a beautiful valley setting, and the gallery experience makes it a very unique place to stay. The rooms were very attractive and comfortable. We loved the sitting room with its books, videos, and games. The breakfasts (and treats) were yummy.

The greatest benefit of all, however, was the opportunity to get to know Lee and Maria. It would be hard to find more gracious, hospitable, and THOUGHTFUL hosts! They were like old friends even though we were just getting to know them. They are what make this BandB special.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

I just spent 3 nights at the Alta Vista B & B this past weekend and I would highly recommend it! I travel often and am very particular about my accomodations. The Alta Vista is located in a perfect spot in Valle Crucis, NC, across from the Mast Store Annex, around the corner from the Mast Farm Inn which serves delicious fine dining, and across the street from an outdoor adventure center. My room faced the grassy knob behind the B & B with a fantastic view! The innkeepers, Lee and Maria, went out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. I was on a special diet, and Lee made sure each mornings' breakfast reflected my preferences, as well as my daily snacks and beverages. I was especially pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the bed was very comfortable-these aspects are extremely important to me. Maria helped us book dining as well as making reservations for us to raft w/ the outdoor center across the street. The Inn is comfortable and cozy, just like an old farmhouse. It was very quiet and peaceful! Maria has an art gallery in the downstairs area specializing in oil paintings-many of the paintings are done of the local area including Grandfather Mountain and are very lovely. I encourage everyone to stay at the Alta Vista when visiting the Valle Crucis, Boone, Blowing Rock, Banner Elk, Linville areas , and do stop in to visit the art gallery if you are in the area! Lee and Maria are wonderful hosts and make sure every detail is taken care of!

  • Liked — clean and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — not all rooms have A/C
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

Our stay at Alta Vista was just wonderful. Lee and Maria are great hosts at their lovely B & B. We really felt as if we were visiting friends. The B & B is located in a very picturesque setting, the accomodations are very comfortable, the den offered us a spot to relax as well as a place to set up office with a wireless connection, Lee's breakfasts were great and Maria's attention to the smallest detail made our stay just perfect. We hope to visit again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TXMerrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2005

As former owners of a Bed and Breakfast Inn in Boone, we don't usually stay at B & Bs when traveling. Totally "Been there, done that". We made an exception when we returned to Boone area and decided to stay in the quiet and beautiful Valle Crucis area (Boone's traffic is terrible!). We were familiar with the Alta Vista Gallery from previous jewlery and art purchases and from the great feedback from many of our B & B guests. The accomodations were wonderfully comfortable and we totally relaxed. Our room was light, airy, the bed comfortable, and our double windows looked over the farm land and barn that are part of the property and so key to Valley Crucis's history. Since we were paying guests, Lee and Maria treated us to all of the special touches that they bring to their hosting. They even pointed out several new restaurants that were not open when we lived in the area. Ate at Stories Grill in Blowing Rock twice!
Former Innkeepers can be very critical. We owned and operated a AAA
Four Diamond B & B Inn in Boone but the Alta Vista gallery and B & B could certainly claim the same level of service and hospitality. It's good to know that there is such a great place to stay in an area that we love and plan to return to again and again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Estelle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
9.8 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
9.5 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 20 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
11.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
9.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 20 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Gallery and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Gallery and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alta Vista Gallery and Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2839 Broadstone Rd., Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,818 - ₹ 10,228
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing