We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older style motel but quiet, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Older style motel but quiet, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This motel is set in spacious grounds so there's no traffic noise. Rooms are large, spacious with separate opening onto centre grassed garden area/pool. Bathroom older style but clean with plenty of room to store things. Parking at door. Breakfast and dinner good value. Would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    48
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

If it wasn't for the electric blanket I would have froze. Room was clean but an open ventilation strip in the bathroom in the alps is not a good idea. Bring an extra heater if you go.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,974 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Set in beautiful gardens, this motel was pleasant.

The proprietors were fine - whether they have changed from those in charge at teh time of the last review is something that I do not know.

Furniture and fittings worked and were in acceptable condition. The bathroom wasn't huge but it was fine.

The tariff was however a little on the high side.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We stayed here in June last year as a last minute getaway for our anniversary. We weren't really that interested in somewhere luxurious - more somewhere to lay our heads.

As we were travelling after work from Melbourne, we arrived late (and this we advised the hotel would be the case) at around 9pm. We were met on reception by a battleaxe of a lady who was standing there, arms crossed and giving us the evil eye. I identified myself and was asked 'Why are you so late?'

It was subzero outside so we made haste to our 'warm and friendly lodge'. On opening the door to the room, we were confronted with a room so cold, not only could we see our breath, but the windows had ice on the INSIDE of the panes! we quickly rugged-up and turned the heating on to try and get some warmth into the place.

After 10 minutes of the heater pumping out more cold air, we decided to head out for dinner, with a stop in at reception to let them know the heating was on the blink.

Sadly we were met by the battleaxe again, and when I made mention of the non-functional heating, the reception became just as cold as our room! I asked that our room be warm by the time we returned from our meal.

Sure enough, when we got back, the room had risen a few degrees above zero, the ice on the windows had gone and we could no longer see the steam in our breath.

We shiveringly climbed into our bed to find it was nice and warm thanks to the electric blankets, but, worryingly, very damp.

We were past caring, and really didn't feel like another encounter with the Ice Maiden, so we supped what was left of our wine, and shivered ourselves to sleep.

The following morning we still had feeling in our feet, so we made it to the lukewarm shower, but really didn't want to get out for fear of catching a cold.

Needless to say we curtailed our long weekend here and promptly found another place to stay (which was wonderful, btw).

On checking out, guess who was there to greet us with her warm personality???? We were made to feel very uncomfortable about the fact that we were leaving early, and she even had the cheek to say she had a good mind to charge us for the extra night because we left early.

We never made it to experience any of the facilities at this place - all the public places had a feel of the 'Overlook Hotel' from the Shining - ugh!

The Decor of this place was terribly out of date, I would guess it was no more recent than the early 1980's

I couldn't tell how quiet the place was for two reasons - #1 there was nobody else in the block of 6 units ta make any noise; and #2 our teeth were chattering so loudly, it would have drowned out any other noise.

Stay away, there are other places to stay in Bright and failing that, sleep in your car.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — shivering myself to sleep
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank wisend-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bright hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2006

Location is good and they provided an included continental breakfast but in general the hotel is amatuerly managed. Rooms are daggy and dark and the bathrooms should have been pulled out years ago. Very expensive and not at all good value for money - especially compared to other properties around the area. Pool was good for the kids. TV had terrible reception and was unwatchable. Woman at front desk very rude and extremely inefficient (they also tried to overcharge me)!

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Siena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bright hotels
1.2 km away
Bright Velo
Bright Velo
#2 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.6 km away
Riverbank Park Motel
Riverbank Park Motel
#8 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.6 km away
Bright Chalet
Bright Chalet
#11 of 13 in Bright
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bogong View Motor Inn
Bogong View Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Bright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 km away
Barrass's John Bright Motor Inn
0.3 km away
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
Ovens Valley Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Bright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Motor Inn

Property: High Country Motor Inn
Address: 13-17 Great Alpine Road, Bright, Victoria 3741, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bright
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,525 - ₹ 7,563
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming Bright motel, nestled in the Ovens Valley and close to Mt Hotham, Mt Buffalo and Falls Creek ski fields. The Best Western High Country Motor Inn offers 3.5-star accommodation in Bright. All rooms have queen-sized beds,reverse-cycle air conditioning and 32inch LCD TV's. Choose from executive rooms, spa rooms or two-bedroom family rooms. Other facilities at this Bright motel include a licensed restaurant and bar, European cedar-style sauna, Outdoor pool with BBQ facilties set amongst our spacious gardens. FREE high speed wireless internet.Guests staying at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn will be close to local attractions and activities, including famous ski fields, alpine national parks, historical goldfields, wineries, cycling, bushwalking, paragliding, fly-fishing and golf. Don?t forget the camera! For warm hospitality and an ideal location in Bright, make a reservation at the Best Western High Country Motor Inn today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your High Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bright
Bright Best Western
High Country Motor Inn Bright, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing