We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”

Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Ararat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre stands as a monument to the contribution by the Chinese to the establishment and economic and cultural advancement of Ararat. It tells a story of deprivation, hardship and the incredible tenacity of thousands of men from the south east of China that made their way to Victoria, in the 1850s in search of gold. Become engrossed in the courthouse stories and see the original Canton Lead Mine tunnel uncovered during the construction of the Centre. A truly interactive experience for visitors of all ages. Open 7 days a week except Christmas Day 11am-4pm 31-33 Lambert Street (Western Highway) Ararat 3377 03 5352 1078
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

It was great to see acknowledgement of the Chinese contribution to Australia from the goldrush times.
There is plenty to see, read, watch and listen to for all ages.
We spend just over two hours and could have spent longer.
We opted to walk around "self guided" but you can also get an audio tour.
Check the roof...amazing!
Play with all the audio/visuals and step back in time when you read all the personal/family stories.
Well worth $10 adult, $8 concession entry

1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gold panning"
in 16 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 6 reviews
"gold fields"
in 5 reviews
"gold rush"
in 7 reviews
"south australia"
in 3 reviews
"gold mine"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"minute film"
in 2 reviews
"audio tour"
in 2 reviews
"interesting introduction"
in 2 reviews
"extraordinary building"
in 2 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"self guided"
in 2 reviews
"early history"
in 2 reviews
"don t miss"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Ararat has a lot of history and this interactive museum is reasonably priced, staffed by friendly knowledgeable staff, well laid out and definitely worth a visit. Allow 2 hours, watch the movie to get the backstory and then be immersed in what the museum has to offer. History, mining, gold panning, Chinese culture and the part the Chinese played in founding Ararat. Before leaving make sure you go upstairs and check out the roof of this extraordinary building.

Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

If you are in Ararat don’t miss seeing this fabulous museum. The story of the Chinese miners who travelled on foot from Robe South Australia and their travails after finding the Canton Lead at Ararat is riveting. We had a great guide in Grant who was so knowledgeable and interesting.
You must see it! The approach with its lovely garden and statues and the amazing roof donated by Ararat’s sister city in China set the scene for a very interesting visit.

Thank MarJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated. It's a great story isn't it? And the roof.. we are very proud of our roof, and very grateful that our Chinese Sister-City of Taishan donated the 56,000 tiles to build it.
I will pass on your kind words to the staff.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This is a great little museum, really worth a visit if you've got an hour to spend and you're interested in a very important aspect of Australian history.

First of all, it's a very impressive building from the outside. Congratulations to the people who made this happen.

Once inside the guide gave us a very warm welcome and gave us a very good introduction to what it was all about. I didn't catch his name but he mentioned that he was retired (possibly an ex-policeman). He was very knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about the museum. That's really important. He gave us a brief overview of what it was all about, told us the history of the Chinese miners and told us about the arrangement Ararat has with its Twin Town in China. He then started the 12-minute video for us. It's important to watch this first, it puts the whole story into context.

The exhibits are very well presented and they have some really great artefacts in there. There's some text to explain each of them and, I believe, an audio tour available too. However, if you've got questions just ask the guide, I'm sure he'll know.

For the kids (big and small) they can try their hand at gold panning and there's also a caligraphy room where you can try your skill at writing Chinese characters (not that easy!).

We really enjoyed it and spent over an hour in there without realising it. Great value for $10.

2  Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Grant will be pleased to hear your kind words, thank you. He is just one of our staff who are all very passionate and full of excitement and knowledge for our story. I'm glad to hear you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

if you looking for history of early Chinese in Australia and our gold fields then Gum San heritage Centre is a great place to visit. Lot of history and the guides are only to keen to help you with any thing about this magnificent place, The building in it self is amazing and a work of true Chinese building in the roof structure

Thank raymon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We are very excited yet humbled by our distinctive roof. It was wonderfully and generously donated by the Taishan Government in China along with 4 Master tilers to put it on. Truly amazing deed by our Sister City; we are very proud of our connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing