We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent museum

Very nicely presented museum detailing the history of Chinese immigrant workers who essentially... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
blimit
,
Melbourne, Australia
A Great Collection

Grant took us in hand and was a great tour guide - the collection shows the Chinese History of the... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Barbara J
,
Carrum Downs, Australia
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
63
21
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
21
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold panning interactive displays gold fields gold rush south australia gold mine great place to visit worth a visit minute film audio tour interesting introduction extraordinary building great exhibits self guided early history don t miss all ages
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

If you are in Ararat don’t miss seeing this fabulous museum. The story of the Chinese miners who travelled on foot from Robe South Australia and their travails after finding the Canton Lead at Ararat is riveting. We had a great guide in Grant who was so knowledgeable and interesting.
You must see it! The approach with its lovely garden and statues and the amazing roof donated by Ararat’s sister city in China set the scene for a very interesting visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MarJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated. It's a great story isn't it? And the roof.. we are very proud of our roof, and very grateful that our Chinese Sister-City of Taishan donated the 56,000 tiles to build it.
I will pass on your kind words to the staff.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This is a great little museum, really worth a visit if you've got an hour to spend and you're interested in a very important aspect of Australian history.

First of all, it's a very impressive building from the outside. Congratulations to the people who made this happen.

Once inside the guide gave us a very warm welcome and gave us a very good introduction to what it was all about. I didn't catch his name but he mentioned that he was retired (possibly an ex-policeman). He was very knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about the museum. That's really important. He gave us a brief overview of what it was all about, told us the history of the Chinese miners and told us about the arrangement Ararat has with its Twin Town in China. He then started the 12-minute video for us. It's important to watch this first, it puts the whole story into context.

The exhibits are very well presented and they have some really great artefacts in there. There's some text to explain each of them and, I believe, an audio tour available too. However, if you've got questions just ask the guide, I'm sure he'll know.

For the kids (big and small) they can try their hand at gold panning and there's also a caligraphy room where you can try your skill at writing Chinese characters (not that easy!).

We really enjoyed it and spent over an hour in there without realising it. Great value for $10.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Grant will be pleased to hear your kind words, thank you. He is just one of our staff who are all very passionate and full of excitement and knowledge for our story. I'm glad to hear you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

if you looking for history of early Chinese in Australia and our gold fields then Gum San heritage Centre is a great place to visit. Lot of history and the guides are only to keen to help you with any thing about this magnificent place, The building in it self is amazing and a work of true Chinese building in the roof structure

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank raymon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

We are very excited yet humbled by our distinctive roof. It was wonderfully and generously donated by the Taishan Government in China along with 4 Master tilers to put it on. Truly amazing deed by our Sister City; we are very proud of our connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

fantastic place so much to see
intercative displays
great history
staff was really knowledgeable
spent few hours highly recommend

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

I will pass on your kind words to my staff, they have a lot of passion and knowledge of the local and Chinese history. We look forward to seeing you again in the future perhaps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

This was a very informative trip to this Heritage Centre.
Enjoyed the history surrounding this famous area for gold digging. Staff very welcoming and informative. Displays were very authentic. A great place to visit for an afternoon.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

I'm very glad you had a pleasant afternoon at our amazing Centre, thanks for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews