We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Barossa Visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Margate, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Barossa Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This Hotel is a bit rundown, cracks along bedroom walls and lots of spider webs over the place,inside and ouside. The food was very good bit the staff was hit and miss. We got daggers from a staff member in the bar when we asked for a coffee............we were the only people in the bar ?? I would stay elsewhere next time regardless of cost as we really didn't think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sugasweetpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    103
    88
    34
    18
See reviews for
44
176
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A perfect little spot with great food. We were able to walk across the road and to 4 wineries: Richmond Grove and Peter Lehman!! We had a spa room - rooms were new, modern clean and tidy. There was no noise from the main road either.
Staff were friendly and helpful, the dinner was very good and the breakfast more than enough. There is a bar and small pool table to amuse you too.
Very Happy, Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Up Graded to a Spa room - a little pricey, but new, clean and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nh0j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Disable friendly room is not really easy for diabled to shower or move about on wheelchair.Bathroom Floor becomes very slippery even tho supplied with extra towels for floor. No suitable table except a coffee table. Sofa very difficult. to get off, if disabled with Arthritis. Food is good and service is tops, shame about the cost and other problems.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supasooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The place looks very run down but the rooms are clean and quiet. Reception staff are passive and the breakfast was ho-hum. I was there for work so not so important but I would feel depressed if I was stuck there for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The older part of the motel which we stayed in is just that, old. The rooms are dated and in need of help but it seems overnight options in Barossa are limited and or much more costly. We got much more value in Melbourne and Portland for $150 than in the Barossa. This accommodation was promoted as gay friendly however perhaps the female bar tender didn't get the memo! She certainly seemed friendly enough with the locals present. Bad bar service aside, two drinks of spirits in the hotel/restaurant cost $19.00! On the upside the young male who assisted us in the morning over continental breakfast was much more welcoming. Breakfast was included and was a good start to our days drive ahead.

Room Tip: Possibly spend the extra money and stay in the new rooms, although we did not see what these were li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappySStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeintalManager, Manager at Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Weintal. The Weintal is a Hotel/Motel and our accommodation rooms are of that nature. They are old; however they are clean, quiet, neat and tidy with modern amenities. We are currently in the process of renovating and painting our Motel accommodation, we do also have Spa Studio accommodation. These rooms are larger with a separate living area and large en suite with spa bath; these rooms are a fairly recent addition to the property.
The property is friendly to all customers, gay or straight, we don’t discriminate against any person or persons, however I certainly value your feedback and would appreciate it if you wouldn’t mind contacting the hotel and let me know when you stayed with us, I will certainly look into the female staff members who would have been serving in the bar on those nights.
We feel the accommodation is competitively and reflective of the standard and services we offer at the Weintal, perhaps you found the accommodation expensive as it included your breakfast?
I am glad the male food and beverage staff member was more help to you in the morning, and obviously performed his duties to the Weintal standard.
Once again thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again at the Weintal, and hope to hear from you so we can follow up about your complaint regarding the bar staff.

Kind regards,
Karen Chorlton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
7.1 km away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
4.8 km away
Vine Inn Barossa
Vine Inn Barossa
#1 of 3 in Nuriootpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 km away
Barossa Motor Lodge
Barossa Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tanunda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
3.9 km away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 3 in Marananga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 km away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel

Property: Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
Address: 235 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia 5352, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Tanunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanunda
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,977 - ₹ 9,137
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel offers standard accommodation in 40 rooms and luxury accommodation in our 10 studios. Our Tavern and Garden Restaurants serve food 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We maintain a wide selection of wines, mainly from local wineries. We are located at the heart of the Barossa Valley within walking distance to several wineries and cellar doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Tanunda
Flag Barossa Weintal Tanunda
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel Barossa Valley/Tanunda, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing