We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Onkaparinga River National Park
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
5
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing lookout trail river access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2020

We started out at Gate 22 in Old Noarlunga, where there is a board describing an old pub that burnt down in 1987. The river was brown and there were large amounts of dead reeds that had been growing in it. The paths were poorly marked and we got to a point where there was no sign telling which way to go. Parts of the path were very narrow and made of hardened sloping mud. which wasn't easy to walk on. There were weeds everywhere, it was incredible for a National Park. Most of what we could see on one side for the beginning of the path was grass and tall weeds. I didn't see any interesting wildlife there, so we went back to the car.

Has the government been making so many budget cuts that they are not maintaining the park any more?

It was disappointing.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank PurpleLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Enjoyed the walk down to the river, starting clockwise from Gate 11. The walk along the river (approx 1.6km) was very challenging. Quite difficult to navigate through metre long reeds. Lots of rock climbing aswell. Visibility was hard along the river, and a few snake sighting so quite scary. Fire track on the last leg was incredibly steep. Stick to the first leg for enjoyment. Not for your everyday hiker (coming from experienced hikers).

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 616hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Terrific park for recreational activities - walk, run, ride or canoe along the Onky!
Great natural scrubland & wildlife. Lots of kangaroos to be seen if you’re in the right spot at the right time.
Several trails to choose from & they’re signposted.
Great to have a good size park of this quality in suburbia.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank FCEEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2019 via mobile

I hiked the Hardy’s Scrub Hike looping from gate 19. It’s a nice and relatively clear route though with few signs to follow. If you are lucky you will spot a kangaroo like I did. A large group of bush walkers were taking the same route, so it might be popular with others on weekends.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank warwickconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Visited the park in July, close to McLaren Vale but dramatically different. Had a number of walk options. We did the ridge
walk about 4kms, with a nice lookout. Paths are clearly marked. The ridge walk was pretty easy until the end which was about 500 metres uphill. Not as bad as it sounds if you take your time. Views along the walk are well worth it. There are easier and harder walks just check the websites or the information boards when you arrive.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank madams2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews