We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Pub Let Down - Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heyward's Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Penola B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Country Pub Let Down - Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We went to the Royal Oak as it was recommended above other local venues. The dining room is very poorly laid out with patrons seating backing onto the small salad bar and limiting the access. Ther salad bar selction was attrocious. There were some open spaces in the dining room which could have been better utilised when some of the seating was so close together there was little to no room to sit comfortably.

The meal service was poor and food quality very average for the price (more suited to a discount meal in a front bar than a higher end priced dining room).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Heyward's Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your input we appreciate your comments. Since your post we have removed the salad and vegetable bar from the dining room and instead serve single portions of salad or vegetables with each meal. This has enabled as to rearrange the dining room to be more comfortable and accommodating for patrons.

Our prices are user friendly with mains ranging from $9.50 to $29.50; this includes a side salad or vegetables. For children we offer a choice of five main items, including a drink and dessert for $12. We always use the best produce available locally, and our hotel continues to be recommended by locals and visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.3 km away
Alexander Cameron Suites
0.9 km away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
1.0 km away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#2 of 4 in Coonawarra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 km away
Penola Backpackers
Penola Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Penola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 km away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heyward's Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heyward's Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Heyward's Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 31 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penola
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing