We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star rating still isn't enough - cannot fault”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen diner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Kitchen diner
Marilyn Monroe Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Hydrotherapy Spa Bath
lounge area
Lounge/diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MeetTheEd...
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5 star rating still isn't enough - cannot fault”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had an absolutely fantastic stay and literally could not fault a thing.

The accommodation itself is kept unbelievably well, we thought it was only 6 months old, only to find out it was 3 years!! Everything was so clean and tidy, you can see the love and care that has gone into it. Everything has been thought of and we were so impressed with all the provisions we were left with for breakfast.

Jannine and Mark were absolutely fantastic. We were made to feel so welcome and we had Mark take us out on a wine tasting tour for the day around the Barossa. He handpicked each of the wineries to suit us and he couldn't have picked better.

I am reluctant to say too much about the detail, as the surprise is what made it such a great stay for us, but what I will say is we had the most fantastic stay and haven't stopped talking about it since. We HIGHLY recommend and hope to visit again :) A HUGE thumbs up!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
It was great meting with you all... Mark had a fabulous day showing you around some of the wineries in the Barossa. Look forward to your return.
Regards
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raffles12...
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Unique, luxury ?, a gross understatement, it's a WOW !”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

? to TA, why is this place hidden away under Holiday Rentals ?? Took me several attempts to locate it.
So, upon arrival you walk back in time to the 50's/60's, but, with all mod cons & free, fast wifi, Foxtel etc . Conveniently located in wine country nothing is far away. Really well thought out & cannot be improved upon. Wheelchair friendly. Additionally, there is an old record player, complete with a selection of 45's & LP's, your very own pinball machine (take plenty of 20c coins), a coffee machine, an old CocaCola machine and a working breathalyser machine, very useful in the Barossa. Outside there were two BBQ's, table & chairs.The fridge was full of goodies & a decanter was full of port! A welcome card invited us for drinks at 5pm with mein hosts Jannine & Mark, in the adjoining "shed" which was chock full of automotive memorabilia. Nothing is too much trouble & we spent a day with Mark visiting small wineries (Barossa Cruisin) & he chauffeured us to/from Vintners so we could all enjoy some wine with dinner. The only place to stay in the Barossa, we shall return ! He will also pick you up from ADL if you are flying in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was great to meet Arthur, Beth & Sarah. We hope to catch up with you when we are in your ""neck of the woods"". Cheers Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterVal...
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - a fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A huge thank you to Jannine and Mark for making our stay in the Barossa perfect! My husband and I were looking for accommodation that was quite central and self contained with off street parking. When we came across Barossa Old Garage BnB it was exactly what we were looking for. We are very much into the '50's & 60's owning classic Cadillacs of this era and in fact in Adelaide to pick up another to add to our collection so this accommodation fitted perfectly. It was great to meet Jannine and Mark and have a few drinks and nibblies with them and it was then that we decided to extend our stay for another night and go on a wine tour with them which was a lot of fun. The time, effort and love that they have put into their accommodation shines through. If you're planning on staying in the area do yourself a favour and stay with them, you won't regret it!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Great meeting with you Debbie & Dave. We are so pleased that you had peace of mind that we offer off street parking for your caddy.
Cheers
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussiehrh
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury with a difference”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos do not do justice; there are no words to properly describe how great this BnB is. Full of fun but still with all of the luxuries (and more). Best equipped kitchen ever; huge bedrooms and bathrooms, all beautifully designed and styled throughout, with lots to find and enjoy. Popcorn machine, pinball machine, coke machine, DUI tester, all 50s themed. Nothing old about this place though - huge modern bathrooms with dual shower heads and the most comfortable spa bath imaginable. Everything absolutely spotless. High quality comfortable leather lounge chairs/sofas, brilliant lighting, reverse cycle aircon in all rooms. FOUR TVs - one in each bedroom, one in the lounge and one in the main bathroom (Great to watch from the spa!); full sound system; wifi, pay TV. Very well provisioned for breakfast with tea, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, juice, crumpets, fresh bread etc. Top quality linens and toiletries and plenty of them. No shortcuts taken here, and the quality and care is obvious. Also went on a wine tour with Barossa Cruisin (also owned by mark and jannine) and had the best day ever. Wanted to choose "better than advertised" but didn't have the option. Sensational value all round and hope to be able to return someday - thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay and tour.
Cheers
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mschiera
Collie, Australia
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a fantastic experience at the Old Garage B&B. The accommodatin is first class and the hosts are wonderful people. Our only regret is that we should have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Great catching up with you all.. Hope you enjoyed your wine tour with Barossa Cruis'in and your Schnitty from the local pub.
Cheers
Jannine & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing