We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place. Great person to deal with.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marion Bay Seaside Apartments
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The location and the hospitality provided by Sean really sets the place apart. The rooms are decent with a view of the jetty. they are not up market but just fine for a family's time out. Sean is a great person who really takes care of his guests. He took us for a ride on his boat in pondalowie bay. It was an amazing experience to see sun-bathing dolphins playing along the boat. It was a nice gesture from him and made our day. I think the other convenience for us was the location of the tavern and general store. we had a five months old. We would have never been able to have good time unless we had everything so close.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sumanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

The Marion Bay Sea side Apartments proved to be a great spot to stay. Convenient to the beach, jetty, bistro and other services. The were very well presented, clean and had everything we needed for a self-contained stay. The dinner voucher and free National Park Pass were a nice touch.
The proprietor Sean was most welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Actually called "Matjala" separate from "Marion Bay Seaside Apartments"and is about 350kms from Adelaide .
This house was awesome ,exceeded our expectations, we needed a place that would sleep a minimum of 13 , but ended up with only 11 , Sean the owner does advise you when booking, that this house is in the middle of nowhere and is very remote ................and ?? , this is exactly what we wanted, fantastic views , empty beach, fantastic places to explore ,awesome sunsets and weather changes ,beautiful . This place has 4 separate bedrooms upstairs ,master with ensuite and another bathroom, 3 outdoor balconies, and main kitchen with also a small additional kitchen. Downstairs 1 queen size bedroom + family room, with room for 10 additional people, with tv and lounge area,also 2 outdoor bbqs and another outdoor patio area,. the place can sleep a total of 20 ,and 3 separate families could easily be separated in different areas of the house .Beds are very comfy and linen was lovely and fresh. This is the owners house and he moves to the small town of Marion Bay (about 30kms away) where he rents out Marion Bay seaside apartments, he is gracious about doing this and letting you sleep in his king size bed with the most beautiful views . The place is not cheap but if you have lots of people the price can be equally shared . $280 per night + $20 per head . There is an isolated beach a short stroll away from the house , not to strenuous to get to , not sandy, or for swimming as such, but there are rock pools you can paddle / laze in and fishing from the rocks .With Innes national park and Marion Bay about 30 kms away, and Foul bay 2kms away there is much surfing/fishing and exploring to do . The place runs independently on wind & solar generation and has a back up diesel generator , there are chickens in a coop that roam freely and if you are lucky will get an egg or two. Highly recommended for groups or families , and for people that love isolation and to watch weather and wildlife.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

We spend 5 days with Sean and had an awesome time. Although we had terrible weather we managed to have a few hours of sun where Sean took us fishing. The area is awesome , so unspoilt and authentic. Same with Sean ... A good man.. Nothing was too much for him. He helped with everything. Great fishing, great accomodation and great people at Marion Bay!

Stayed: January 2015
Thank Heike1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014 via mobile

If you have children beware of the large uncontrolled German Shepherd dog that roams around at will. Looks magnificent but is not under any sort of control and is capable of who knows what. At the very least, one of the ladies cleaning the rooms said it jumps up on her car doors.

Stayed: November 2014
4  Thank Weejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marion Bay Seaside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Bay Seaside Apartments

Address: 1 Jetty Road, Marion Bay, South Australia 5575, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Marion Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Marion Bay
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing