We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but not a four star villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadwater Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in 2 bed waterfront villa. Location was great, loved sitting on the balcony whilst kids played on the beach.
Bad points: austar only on main tv and tv in bedroom doesnt pick up digital channels, austar guide is dec 11 (6 months old??)cigarette butts and rubbish on grounds surrounding villas, screen doors/ glass sliding door too hard to open, no hair dryer, no ice cube trays or milkfon arrival for cuppas. Villas are also so close together you can easily hear next door (2m apart). Top bunk was not even made!
Will not waste the money on sub standard 4 star accommodation again. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 588 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

For a great stay @ the Gold Coast with or without kids, this Tourist Park is the one.
We stay in the cabins looking across the water to Seaworld, and they are literally right on the beach. Kids love the pools & jumping pillow,plus the playground and if thats not enough there is massive big park next door not to mention the beach just 10steps away from your door. Cabins are clean n tidy, and are fully self contained with a bbq and verandah area for outdoor dining. We are a family of 6 & we love it. Just ask for Margaret she is lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahtmhf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed in the beachfront 2 bedrooms suite units. The beach is just at our doorstep and the unit overlook the sea-world just across the lagoon. What a lovely relaxing beachfront location right in the middle of a busy city area. All shops & amenities are nearby, and close proximity to all Theme Parks. You could not asked for any better.
The rooms are neat and clean with modern setting. All equipment are well maintained and clean.
The kids simply enjoy the beach playing with the sands and water right at the doorstep and the bouncing pillow and children playground kept them well entertained.
There are people fishing on the beach and a park just beside for you to do your morning jog. Excellent environment for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianang888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My family of four have just returned home from holidaying at Browadwater Tourist Park. We travelled with another family of four with our kids all similar ages. We arrived early as our flights changed so we called into the park about 11am on the off chance our rooms would be ready. We were told not a chance. All good, we went and had lunch and returned at 2.15 for check in. When we were given the map of the park we noticed one family was at one end of the park and the other family at the other. Not ideal for kids that want to live in each others pockets. I went back into reception and was told this could not be changed.
Off we went to check out our villas.

When we booked the holiday we specifically asked for the villas on the sandy side of the park because we have small children and it would be safer. Ours was exactly the villa we requested but our friends was absolutely awful. The villa was very old, outdated and had a strange smell and it was far from the beach. You could imagine their suprise when they saw ours. Our friends went back to reception and asked what had happened with their booking request and they were told they had given their villa to the people who came earlier!! As you could imagine our friends were less then impressed and asked the question of why,if a person specifically asks for a particular villa that you give it to someone else? They were told that no rooms can be guaranteed!! Not sure how this works, if you book a villa and pay a deposit your not even guaranteed a room?? Don't understand that. When my friends got upset they were very rudely told by the manager that it was not her problem and to take it up with the Gold Coast Council as they were the owners. What a cop out.

A compromise was reached where our friends would stay in the original villa for four nights and then move to the villa that they ahd booked once the people occuplying had left. All good. The day before they were to move my friends get a rude phone call from reception telling them to pack their stuff, the cleaners were waiting and they should have moved out already. My friend tried for three minutes to convince the awful women that no, they were to move the next day. She had no luck.
So my friends ran around like crazy people to pack all their things in record time. They were just starting to load everything in the car when a young boy came and said there had been a mistake, they didn't have to leave for another day!! When my friend called reception the woman laughed and said, yeah she got the dates mixed up! There was no apology what so ever. This really ruined our day as we had plans to go out for the day which we cancelled because of the packing and unpacking.
The managment and staff of this place should all be sacked and replaced. We would have had a great holiday if it wasn't for the bad experience we had with the staff at this place. Its such a shame because the place is ideal for families. Its close to the beach, shops, theme parks and restaurants.
Besides the rude staff, there are a couple of other negatives to this place.
The grounds have a lot of rubbish lying around.
The older pool needs a good clean, the bottom was covered in leaves and sand everytime we went there.
The laundromat is really dirty.
I would have forgiven the above and probably one day returned but because of the staff we definately will not be going back.

Room Tip: Villas on the side which looks across to Seaworld are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank krush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just tucked far enough up the strip away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers, but near enough if you want a night out. The other great thing about the location is that it's on the water side of the main road, so no passing traffic, and direct access to Broadwater.

For the theme parks, it couldn't be better placed. 15 minutes to Dreamworld, Movie World etc one way. And less than 10 minutes from Sea World the other way.

We stayed in a Waterfront 2 bed villa. It felt brand new inside, lovely decor, Austar tv and everything more than functional. Our patio was practically on the beach, and had a great gas barbie all set up.

The park had a bouncy inflatable pillow which the kids loved, and an ok games room. The pool looked average, but it was too cold to swim being August and unheated.

I wouldn't stay here again for the following reasons:

- Although the villa had very secure window and door locks, we didn't feel too safe at night. A few drunk vagrants used to gather on the beach and pester us for cigarettes etc. When I mentioned this to the Reception, they said there was nothing they could do as it was council land and the public had the right to be there.

- Manager hid behind a huge two way mirror behind the reception desk. Always felt you were being 'analysed' when you walked in there.

- Check out was 10am. Our child was sick on the morning we left, so it took us a little longer than we wanted to pack up. Still, we got the the barrier exit just before 10.20am, but the exit code we had didn't work. When I went into reception to query this, I was spoken to quite abruptly and told it was because the code expired and we should have left the park by 10am. Common sense tells you there should be a buffer of AT LEAST 20 minutes here for eventualites such as ours that morning.

- Sea World is only across the water, and runs helicopter trips constantly throughout the day. Drives you absolutely crazy after 4 hours of constant chopper noise.

All in all a nice holiday, but wouldn't stay there again for the reasons mentioned.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.1 km away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.5 km away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,642 reviews
4.3 km away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
83 reviews
2.8 km away
Main Beach Tourist Park
Main Beach Tourist Park
#3 of 18 in Main Beach
532 reviews
0.4 km away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadwater Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadwater Tourist Park

Address: 169 Marine Pde, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Southport
Price Range: ₹ 7,098 - ₹ 14,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadwater Tourist Park 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadwater Tourist Park overlooks the stunning Broadwater in Southport, boasting one of the best locations on the Gold Coast. With easy access to beautiful beaches and views, this picturesque spot is the perfect place to holiday all year round. Choose from a wide range of accommodation options including self-contained villas and sites that provide picturesque views over the Broadwater. Sites for caravans, camper vans and camping include powered waterview and ensuite options. One of the villas is fully accessible. Being located close to the Broadwater, guests to the tourist park can make the most of this location by swimming in the stillwater frontage and moor their boats alongside the park. Only 5km from Surfers Paradise and conveniently located to the main arterial roads, the park links guests to public transport and the various attractions of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and EaseMyTrip so you can book your Broadwater Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadwater Tourist Park Southport, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing