We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for very low class accommodation”
Review of Sundale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundale Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 17 April 2016

The staff are rude and use disgusting language almost as bad as Clementine Ford.
Room was dirty and noisy. I left after one day and moved to a much better motel that was much better value. If you stay here I'm sure you will love your next hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesdoyle1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

I had some house work done and had to stay 1 night in a motel. Very friendly staff nice room and close to Aus fair n local restaurants And public transport the room was very clean comfortable bed. Can't complain 5/5 .
Not expensive at all I'd recommend this place to all my friends

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Dj_tydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Manager at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you for your Kind words. We often get repeat customers who enjoy staying here but rarely take time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The room downstairs was awful! The fridge didn't work & the bathroom had a leaky toilet,it was so uncomfortable being there but I was desperate so I lasted the week out as there's no refunds available..The reason I switched from the upstairs room was as I've mobility issues so when the downstairs room became available(a warning about that upstairs room,too,the Tv doesn't picked up the ABC channel!).I've stayed there years ago & it was cheaper & better,so I'm unsure as to why now even though they've made more rooms available/expanding it it's gone downhill now..

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room if you're able to! @ least the fridge works & no leaking toilet!(But w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aviva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I was so very impressed with the personal service here, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
Well contained, simple rooms perfect for business trips and overnight stays.
I will definitely be returning :)

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank HannahEdwards90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

My partner and I realised we had made a mistake as soon as we drove into the car park.
The owner is un-friendly, un-helpful and rude. We had no air con unless you pay $10! We paid for wifi and it didn't work! When we told the owner it wasn't working, he made no effort to help us as he was too busy playing with his phone.
I almost cried when I walked into the room... Dingy, old fashioned, un-hygenic and falling apart and don't even get me started on the smell! It looks like it hasn't been touched since the 60's
It is the worst motel I have ever been to.
Do not go here! Go to the Tropicana Motel located on the Gold Coast Highway opposite Pacific Fair Shopping Centre. It's a lovely motel and it is cheaper than this dump!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear Lucy L from Geelong,
I have reviewed your publicly published profile where you are toasted as a "Foodie", "Trendsetter" and "Luxury Traveller" and apart from the fact that you spammed a hefty 18 reviews on 27 Dec, then a further five on 28 Dec, followed by another six on 9 Jan your un-traceable and therefore un-verified stay at my property allegedly occurred a whopping 10 months prior to making these derogatory statements. Genuine reviews tend to be prompt and not include raves about other similar properties. People using this forum are intelligent, informed travellers searching for genuine, helpful reviews not this sort of scathing, unverified SPAM. Each of the 29 reviews you've made about a host of very reputable Gold Coast business including the Chevron Renaissance, Q1, and Grand Chancellor paints a grim picture of your own ability to see that the Gold Coast is a diverse place to shop, dine and enjoy a well deserved break from the everyday. And for those reading reviews on any forum when assessing the relevance of reviews it is always advisable to look at the reviewer's other posts to determine if they are a indeed a like minded soul and someone who'll be allowed to determine the outcome of your own experience. Here's to a happy, healthy 2015 filled with positivity and good thoughts. Janine Mills - Owner Sundale Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 km away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.2 km away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
83 reviews
0.5 km away
Woodroffe Hotel
Woodroffe Hotel
#1 of 2 in Southport
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
2.4 km away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
2.0 km away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 11 in Southport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundale Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundale Motel

Address: 20 Queen St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: ₹ 7,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundale Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and Convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. Family Priced Dining, Entertainment and Shopping just a stroll away at the amazing Australia Fair Shopping Center. Close to Public Transport. Convenient for Eye Surgeon, all Specialist Health and Dental plus Gold Coast Hospital. Best Accommodation for Sports and Clubs including Southport RSL,Gold Coast Turf Club,Southport Yacht Club, Queen Street Tennis Club and Southport Pool - all moments away. Walk to family entertainmet free at Broadwater Family Park and Wetlands. Easy Access to all major Theme Parks including Seaworld 10 minutes and Dreamworld, Movieworld and WetnWild under 30 minutes. Central Surfers Paradise Night Life and Main Beach Restaurnt Row a short Taxi ride. Located at the start line of the Gold Coast Marathon and close to V8 Super Cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundale Motel Southport, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing