We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Muddy Waters Cafe

Muddy Waters Cafe
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Maryborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I are pretty fussy. We were looking for a quiet date night, with good food(I cook a lot at home, so we are especially hard on the food). When we showed up here, we were pretty stressed and feeling suspicious and a little cranky!
But here at Muddy Waters Cafe, we had one of the best nights out ever..
Even the herb bread was impressive(made on-site).
There was acoustic music, which was tasteful and nonintrusive, adding great ambience.
Looking out over the river, seeing the boats moored that night... it was wonderful.
The staff were friendly and helpful, almost slightly too friendly.
The food was very, very good. My one complaint, was that my duck was a little dry. But everything else in my dishes was good. My husband's steak was very good. Dessert was beautiful. And there was a great attention to detail in presentation.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yeawodeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    60
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Food that melts in your mouth”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Well worth a visit fantastic food, always try something differant havnt found a meal I don't like yet, sometimes I just stop for a glass of wine or a coffee always friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
478 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“maryborough visit”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

recommended by the Info centre, great location, good service & value for money

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have lunch here with the ladies from work because its a short walk and they have Beer battered barramundi to die for. They used to have the best pavlova ever but last time I was there it was no longer available on their menu which was devastating! But I guess I had to move on and try something new...so I picked the chocolate tart which was just as good! Their breakfast is delicious too. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desert-First-Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charters Towers, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Brilliant cafe/restaurant. fantastic flavours and great view. You have to try this place if you are ever in Maryborough or Hervey Bay.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank foodie499642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muddy Waters Cafe also viewed

Maryborough, Fraser Coast
Maryborough, Fraser Coast
 
Maryborough, Fraser Coast
Maryborough, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Muddy Waters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing