We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
137
68
19
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
68
19
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tallest lighthouse the owner forillon national park round table room was clean seafood stew croissants rocky beach great breakfast fire pit rooms are small a great stay would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights great view glass of wine long drive
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Cute and cozy room with kitchenette. Bed was very comfortable and when you woke and opened drapes it was the Most spectacular view overlooking Park Forillon and the cap des rosier lighthouse. The beach across the street was great for a walk after long drive or early morning exercise. The breakfast was great with all kinds of homemade Gaspé foods. Worth the $10. The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful. Try to stay 2 nights to fully appreciate the area

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank beauguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for your comment and for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve been on the road for almost a month now. We’ve stayed in hotel chains (mid range to expensive) and Airbnb’s. This was our first and only motel of the trip, and I think it was my favorite night of the trip so far.

The owner is friendly, and is fluent in English (his French is good too - he corrected my grammar). The room was small and the bed covers looked dated, but the bathroom had been upgraded and was lovely. The beds were comfortable and had good pillow. It was clean.

I woke up early and caught the sunrise over the lighthouse, and then walked on the beach. It really is a gorgeous location. I then had the breakfast (not included in the price), and really enjoyed it. There were a lot of home baked goods that were delightful. My wife felt it was too much carbs and not enough protein offered, but I figure since we are on holidays, we might as well eat up the maple muffins.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your comment and for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stayed here while visiting the Forillon Park. The motel is compact, clean, comfortable, and exactly right for a visit out the end of the Gaspé. Great breakfast, good value at $10 each. There are barbecues if you want to cook out, and a wonderful beach 100 yards from the motel. And the view from the room is stunning.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks, guys. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you very much for the nice comment and thank you for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The rooms are nice and clean, some with full bathroom and kitchenette, some with shower only. The beds are comfortable and the view is great. Alain, the owner, was very nice and helpful. His mom, Claudette, cooks breakfast every morning and makes special treats for kids (brioche, hot chocolate etc.). My family and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay right next to Forillon National Park and the highest lighthouse in Canada. The surroundings look and feel like the end of the world...in a very good and enjoyable way.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Ioana-sur-Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your comment :) and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

The motel is at a beautiful location and very close to North entrance of Forillon national park. The owner is friendly and helpful. Don't miss the breakfast buffet by the owner's mother, it's delicious.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Trekker_Abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for been here and for your comment :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews