We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site. Excellent breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel du Haut Phare
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This motel is located at an extraordinarily beautiful site at Cap-des-Rosiers in Gaspé. The motel offers somewhat smaller rooms, but the rooms are well equipped. Breakfast is available at an extra fee. This is a small fee, because the breakfast of locally prepared products is absolutely delicious.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ruud_Vandeursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks for your comment and been here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a very small motel and family run. We didn't expect much but knew we were going to purchase the $7 breakfast, we had heard good things. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but completely updated personally by the owner. There is a bed, small bathroom and walk in shower, a TV, a table and 2 chairs and a refrigerator in each room. The room was sparkling clean and the bed was very nice with good linins. Each room has a large window facing the ocean. The heat worked well and so did the wifi. We would stay here in a heartbeat again. I suggest the breakfast, it was very good. The owners touch at breakfast made it even better. We couldn't have asked for a more accommodating room or host. Both were great.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 rooms. They were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborahdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The room was a little cramped, but the view was great and the owners couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was SUPERB!! The home-made croissants were delicious and the choices were amazing. The owners were really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for this nice comment and for been here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Website indicates there is continental breakfast. There is if you pay for it! Not exactly as advertised. If you stay at the hotel you get "discounted" guest price of $7.00 for a continental breakfast. It is a very nice homemade breakfast made by the owners mother.
Rooms are quite cramped and very dated. Views are spectacular. That is why you stay here. Glass of wine in the evening or coffee in the morning from your Adirondack chair on the porch looking at Cap Gaspe was beautiful. Saw seals just offshore.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karenZ2271EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The best thing about this motel is the location. Right by the lighthouse and the views of both the lighthouse and ocean are fabulous. The room was simple but clean and proper. A bonus was a small folding table in the closet which we brought out to one of the benches on the cliffs overlooking the ocean for our simple picnic-style dinner for a very romantic evening.
They added a restaurant since my last visit about 4 years ago, but we didn't have a chance to try it. And breakfast started later in the morning than we wanted so had to pass on that as well.
Would we stay here again? Yes! Good value, clean, quiet, simple, but the location makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaspe
20.7 km away
Auberge sous les Arbres
35.9 km away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
20.8 km away
Hotel des Commandants
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
21.4 km away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
44 reviews
20.7 km away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel du Haut Phare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Haut Phare

Address: 1334 Route 132 Cap-Des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range: ₹ 5,598 - ₹ 8,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel du Haut Phare 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Du Haut Phare is one of the most marvellous places to stay in Gaspe. Our motel is located in the very heart of the Gaspe peninsula, at the gateway to the village of Cap-Des-Rosiers and Forillon National Park just where the International Appalachian Trail draws to an end... One of the loveliest places in the province of Quebec. Here you can always expect a warm hospitality and we will do everything to make people comfortable, your host Alain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel du Haut Phare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Du Haut Phare Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing