We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
135
66
19
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
66
19
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstallest lighthousethe ownerforillon national parkround tableroom was cleanseafood stewcroissantsrocky beachgreat breakfastfire pitrooms are smalla great staywould definitely stay here againstayed here for nightsgreat viewglass of winelong drive
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a very small motel and family run. We didn't expect much but knew we were going to purchase the $7 breakfast, we had heard good things. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but completely updated personally by the owner. There is a bed, small bathroom and walk in shower, a TV, a table and 2 chairs and a refrigerator in each room. The room was sparkling clean and the bed was very nice with good linins. Each room has a large window facing the ocean. The heat worked well and so did the wifi. We would stay here in a heartbeat again. I suggest the breakfast, it was very good. The owners touch at breakfast made it even better. We couldn't have asked for a more accommodating room or host. Both were great.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 2 rooms. They were equally good.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborahdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The room was a little cramped, but the view was great and the owners couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was SUPERB!! The home-made croissants were delicious and the choices were amazing. The owners were really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for this nice comment and for been here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Website indicates there is continental breakfast. There is if you pay for it! Not exactly as advertised. If you stay at the hotel you get "discounted" guest price of $7.00 for a continental breakfast. It is a very nice homemade breakfast made by the owners mother.
Rooms are quite cramped and very dated. Views are spectacular. That is why you stay here. Glass of wine in the evening or coffee in the morning from your Adirondack chair on the porch looking at Cap Gaspe was beautiful. Saw seals just offshore.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karenZ2271EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The best thing about this motel is the location. Right by the lighthouse and the views of both the lighthouse and ocean are fabulous. The room was simple but clean and proper. A bonus was a small folding table in the closet which we brought out to one of the benches on the cliffs overlooking the ocean for our simple picnic-style dinner for a very romantic evening.
They added a restaurant since my last visit about 4 years ago, but we didn't have a chance to try it. And breakfast started later in the morning than we wanted so had to pass on that as well.
Would we stay here again? Yes! Good value, clean, quiet, simple, but the location makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The room was calm, although it was part of a row of rooms with a shared terrace. Parking was just in front of the room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate and claen. The breakfast - not included in the rate - was an experience. The location was great and the "Phare” (Lighthouse) was within walking distance and an attraction by itself. However, it was confusing to find the place, because there were 2 motels/ B&B with the same name. There was no gas station nearby

Room Tip: All rooms are equal
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moshe Michel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain C, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for been there and thank you for your comment :)

Alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews