We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful pet-friendly home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rednix20
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful pet-friendly home”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just come back from a wonderful week in Croyde at this beautiful house and had a wonderful time.
The beach is just seconds away (you can hear it from the back bedrooms), the scenery is gorgeous and they welcome pets for an additional £20 which we thought was very reasonable!
We came down for Christmas week and my aunt was a little concerned we would not have a Christmas tree (small things I know)...we actually had two, all set up and decorated for us on arrival, along with a welcome basket of mince pies, a card and other seasonal treats. The housekeeper had even thought of our dog and had very kindly left a festive bone in the basket for him as well!
High Tide was, in fact, our second attempt at booking a property for the Xmas season. We had originally intended to take Stonesthrow which is just a little further down the road. However, the owners withdrew the property and we ended up here. I am so pleased we did because it was perfect for us. High Tide is a stunning house and offers beautiful views from its windows, of which there are plenty, so the house is never short on natural light.
We are already talking about coming back later this year and I know we will try to book this property again.
The only thing that stops me rating this excellent is the advertisement of the property which could be construed as a bit misleading. High Tide is advertised as 6 bedrooms, which helps boost its price considerably. However, there are only three double bedrooms on the first floor. There is a small room upstairs with bunk beds, but the master bedroom and the den downstairs both have bunk rooms annexed onto them and so are not independent bedrooms accessed by the hallway.
Also, the property is advertised as four bathrooms. But only the master bedroom with its ensuite and the main bathroom on the first floor have showers in them. The other two "bathrooms" are the downstairs lavatories comprising only of a toilet and sink.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thank you for your detailed review.
We are delighted with your valued and constructive feedback and thankful for the excellent way your treated and enjoyed this beautiful holiday home.
We look forward to seeing you again.
The Choice Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
965barryj
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location very close to the beach”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location of High Tide close to the beach is a great attraction. The house provides good, spacious, well equipped family accommodation with good parking and a large garden. You should check that the bedroom accommodation suits your requirements as three of the bedrooms are bunk rooms with two bunks in each room with one of the rooms being off the master bedroom. We have had four family holidays in Croyde, three in High tide and our family always enjoy it. The conservatory/kitchen overlooking the garden provides very homely space well used by us. However the property has reached the stage where some investment is required. For example the double glazing to the front of the house has been misted up since we first visited in 2013 which is unpleasant and the settee in the small lounge has seen better days. These are small points as our family love it here but it is disappointing and prevent me from rating it excellent. One added feature this year is the 'hot tub'. No surprise that this comes at an extra charge but enjoyed by all and great after a day surfing/body boarding. Make sure that the bedroom accommodation suits your requirements and if it does go for it. I am sure you won't be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thank you for your excellent review which will be passed on to the owners of High Tide.
The Choice Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaziram
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay but not what is advertised”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very happy with the upkeep of the property and location, however as description says it is not a proper 6 bedroom as two of independent bedrooms for just with bunk beds and one of the bunk bedroom is part of master bedroom so technically if you were sharing the place with friends the couples need to adjust on bunk beds which is not the arrangement I would enjoy on a holiday.
We were 4 families with 1 kid each and there are only 3 proper bedrooms (from privacy perspective) since we thought it was 6 bedroom we booked it but realized that bunk beds are also considered as bedrooms so it was a learning.
The cottage had a big kitchen , separate dining, BBQ and pretty much everything you need in a cottage. Has 4 WC and 2 bath which is more than enough to keep a large party comfortable. Has PS2 to keep kids entertained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hej207
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb house for larger family or groups. Excellent beach location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a fantastic week at Croyde High Tide during February half term. We were a group of ten - 4 adults and 6 children ranging from 13 to 3 years old. Plenty of space for us all to hang out and relax. The children loved their own little den with playstation and adults equally enjoyed the lounge with log fire. The spacious kitchen area and dining table was perfect for preparing and enjoying meals together. There was everything we needed and more. The house is just a few minutes from the beach and a peasant stroll into Croyde for some lovely pubs/restaurants. The owner and cleaner were super helpful. This is a great house for families to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: We had to come home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniella...
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a great week in this property with a large family group.

The house is very well equipped, clean and spacious with nice rear garden and private gated drive for several vehicles.

The property is well appointed with enough seating for family and plenty of space inside.

Accommodation sleeps 12 in 5 bedrooms however there are actually only 2 showers which really isn't enough for a property that size. We feel that the downstairs cloakroom could easily accommodate a shower to help with the inevitable queues for showers after a day at the beach.

Would have been nice to have some outdoor seating as only small table and 5 chairs and 2 sunloungers of which one was broken.

This is the 2nd time we stayed with our dog and the hole in the trellis fencing which was there last year has still not been fixed - not a huge problem but obviously to keep dog in we had to be creative with some cardboard. Just gives a feel that the general maintenace could be improved.

Take your own pillows as those on the beds definately aren't of good quality.

Brilliant location though, easy walk to beach and pub and great walks up Baggy Point to Putsborough.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing