We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one for a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence La Gancia
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Trapani
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Number one for a reason”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Great hotel!! BEAUTIFUL! Loved my room (which was huge). Bathroom was very modern. Breakfast had the best view of the water (and a lovely assortment of breakfast options). They also had the bar open in the afternoon and the "snacks" that they gave me with my glass of wine (as I relaxed on the rooftop, sighing at the beautiful view) was enough that I didn't need to have dinner. Of course, this being Sicily, I DID have dinner because the food in Trapani is also amazing. Highly recommended. Try and stay here when you are visiting Trapani.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MsTravelJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    159
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
96
341
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

When we arrived in the early evening in mid-May we were delighted when the taxi stopped at a fantastic location right on the old sea wall of Trapani.

After a warm welcome we were taken to our partial sea view room (202). The room was essentially two rooms: one with a table and three chairs, a small sofa, and a kitchenette (extra cleaning charge of 20 euro if you use the kitchen) and the second the bedroom with either a king or twin beds (can be separated), a small table, chair and flat screen TV, night tables and decent reading lights. The bathroom is very long, with a large rectangular shower with rain and hand held showerheads, bidet, toilet and modern marble slab sink, hair dryer and nice amenities. The artwork in the room and hotel are a highlight. The building is obviously old and our room had some wonderful quirks - a piece of what seemed to be an old wall sticking out of the wall in the bedroom; and painted ceramic tiles as part of the ceiling in the living room that added to the overall appeal! There was always something of interest to see, so keep you eyes peeled - not everything is as obvious as the glass in the floor just past reception.

Reception closes at around 21:00 and after that access to the hotel is through a back door, key required to get back in. This was a very easy process.

The reception staff were outstanding: friendly with excellent dining and sightseeing recommendation as well as other assistance for onward travel, loan of an iron and ironing board when time did not allow for laundry (part of our stay was on a weekend when there is no laundry service and regular service takes two days). They ensured we had a wonderful visit.

Breakfast is on the enclosed terrace on the rooftop. Gorgeous views and a very nice breakfast (bread, cakes, biscuits, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, juices, hard-boiled eggs, cold cuts and cheeses. Coffee is made to order and was excellent). When the winds are light the terrace can be partly open, but as it was quite windy during our visit, the coverings (thick plastic) were lowered for our comfort.

On our final evening we decided that drinks at sunset on the terrace would be a wise alternative to a full dinner! With the wine we were offered some nibbles (toasted bread with five toppings, peanuts, olives, tomato and pecorino spears, and strawberries with sugar for dipping. Four drinks, appetizers, a toast, and coffee came to a very reasonable 30 euro. What a lovely evening.

There is free wifi, just obtain the login and password details from reception. We found that the wifi worked without these during the night.

We decided to visit Erice by taxi and booked one through Trapani Tours – for a very reasonable 35 Euro we were driven to Erice by a fabulous man (unfortunately I forgot the name), dropped at various sights with directions and recommendations of what to look for (all in Italian and hand gestures), and in the end he maneuvered his car through the narrow streets to Antica Pasticceria Del Convento (his personal favourite) to try a warm Genovese pastry. Simply perfect way to experience Erice. Trapani itself is wonderful and there are so many interesting places to visit nearby – make sure you allocate sufficient time to explore.

Outstanding property, location and staff, highly recommend.

Room Tip: we felt that the slight additional charge for the partial sea view was well worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Having just come from Palermo, with everything that encompasses, I loved this hotel. The area around the hotel is clean, quiet. The hotel itself is only two years old. The hosts behind the desk are very welcoming, speak good English, good restaurant recommendations. Parking is very easy. We had a room which looked over a courtyard. Not unattractive. Breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. Both variety on offer (illy coffee) and view. The position of the hotel is right by the sea. Lovely. Wifi stronger in the lobby.
All I can say is you will enjoy your stay. Very reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timaru64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Went for a weekend to Trapani with a group of girls and this hotel was fantastic. The rooms/bathrooms were nice, spacious and clean. The breakfast was above expectations with fresh fruit, bread, fresh rikotta, ham, cheeses and several cereals, cakes and sweets to choose from. The breakfast is served on the terrace with a lovely view. One can also have drinks on the terrace during the day/evening. The barman was very polite and funny :)

The hotel is in a fantastic location. The receptionist was very patient and helpful. The beach, shops, restaurants, bars are all just a short walk away. The ferry to visit the Egadi islands is also just a five minute walk. I highly recommend this hotel and will be booking it again for my next visit to Trapani.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the top floor suite which has a stunning view of the Mediterranean and a beautiful terrace. The suite was huge. It was clean but the shower grout and the rug could benefit from some additional cleaning. The water in the bathroom was not potable so a complimentary bottle of water would have been nice. Otherwise the stay, the breakfast and the staff were most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAgirl92270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapani
0.1 km away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Trapani In
Hotel Trapani In
#2 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 km away
Al Residence San Domenico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
244.0 km away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
133.9 km away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.0 km away
Relais Antiche Saline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Gancia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Gancia

Property: Residence La Gancia
Address: Piazza Mercato del Pesce, 91100, Trapani, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Trapani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trapani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trapani
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,185 - ₹ 13,681
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence La Gancia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence La Gancia is in the town of Trapani on Sicily's north coast. It offers Wi-Fi and a roof terrace with garden with panoramic views over the town and the bay.La Gancia is decorated in mixture of traditional Sicilian and modern styles, with colourful mosaic walls. Rooms are air conditioned and have private bathrooms and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence La Gancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Gancia Hotel Trapani
Residence La Gancia Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing