We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern spacious beautifully clean”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of VILLA LAGADA

Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Villa Lagada, why not chill out on one of the 4 balconies or round the pool Your own private pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Villa Lagada, why not chill out on one of the 4 balconies or round the pool
Your own private pool
His and hers for the holiday
Mountain views as well as area views
Perfect place for sundowners
Outside shower, great for the kids
New seating area for morning coffee and boat watching
Shade all day long, perfect for those hot summer days
Sea view and shade
Don't waste the view, use the outside bbq and dine alfresco with a view of the sea
Plenty of parking at the front of the villa
Plenty of room to watch a film
Dining Room & Well Equiped Kitchen
Master Bedroom, en suite & balcony
Bedroom 2, en suite & balcony
Downstairs Bedroom, en suite wet room
Twin Bedroom with balcony
Bunk & a Single Bed makes it 11 beds
Makrygialos promenade, great tavernas and local food
Beautiful harbour in town
Makrigialos fishing harbour
Makrigialos Beach, possibly the best in Crete
Diaskari Beach
Take a trip to Mochlos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
marlenean...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern spacious beautifully clean”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Stayed at Villa Lagada on an extended family holiday. Weather was fab and the villa could not be faulted! It was spotlessly clean & modern & beautifully decorated - the kitchen had more dishes and equipt than we have at home!. The pool was large (with steps for my sister who is 70 which helped her get in and out of the pool as she is a bit dodgy on her legs) plenty of sunbeds lovely modern outdoor furniture and the guy that cleaned the pool came really early we hardly ever saw him. There is so much sitting out space here, little corners and tables and nooks and crannies that when you are in a big group you still have loads of opportunties to have some quiet time on your own. The balconies are lovely too for a bit of quiet time. All the bathrooms were modern and top notch with lovely towels. The best thing was the massive BBQ (buying meat rom the butchers in town) and big shaded outdoor table plus the roof top terrace where we enjoyed lunchtime cockails. We also enjoyed the owls nesting in the chimney after we realised they weren't aliens. Watched the sun set and the moon rise from the poolside and lay on the sunbeds to look at the amazing stars at night. Locally the best taverna was the Cave of Dragon (facing the sea from the villa its over to the left) and we loved Diaskali beach & the taverna there. Had a day trip to Sitia (took an hour or so to drive there) and could see a heart shaped olive grove in the distance. This is the most modern and spacious villa we have ever stayed at and was excellent value for money although it was a bit of a drive from the airport (2 hrs) it was worth it. And the directions we were given for driving from the airport were spot on. Oh and the wifi worked really well! Thank you Ric & Miriam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space & cleanliness
Liked least: This area of Crete is not the prettiest bit of Greece but it is ok
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words, Tripadvisor is very important these days. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious finishing touches and extras in the villa
Liked least: A temperamental hob meant we ate out which wasn't a hardship!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2012
Many thanks for your kind words they mean a lot to us and potential guests. I have already asked for an estimate to have the lights fitted along the drive. Not only will this look spectacular but assist the driving.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kas151
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine around the bbq!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were amazed at the serenity of Villa Lagada. The villa is modern and spacious so great for families and groups alike. The bbq is brilliant and the pool even better. If you do choose to visit Villa Lagada you must visit the Dragon's Cave restaurant which is approx. 5 mins from the villa. Makrigialos is not a tourist trap but has all the amenities you require from cash machines to a butcher!! We had a great time and would recommend it to everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Pool and Al Fresco dining
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to hear from you again sometime in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb-13-09
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were meant to be a group of 4 couples but sadly one couple had to drop out at the last minute. Boy did they miss out!!, We did however toast our "absent friends" on most ocassions we had glasses in our hands.
The villa and the area are truely amazing. The choice of local tavernas were sufficient to satisfy the most demanding foodie and Sunday night at the Pepper Tree was a delight. The restaurant staff picked us all up at the villa, drove 20 mins into the mountains for a night of great food, drink and Greek dancing and then took us back to the villa, all for €30 a head.
The villa itself had all the facilities we needed for a perfect holiday where you could relax with your friends or lots of places where you could take a break for a quiet moment on your own if you wanted to. The only thing missing was a food mixer to make our own mayonaise, but life still goes on.
At night the sky is clear and the stars are everywhere, nearer to earth we saw owls flying by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2012
Hi John, thank you for the kind words. We will look into a food mixer for the villa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetruthi...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delivers everything it promises”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Having been disappointed a number of times over the years by holiday lets, Villa Lagada was a real pleasure - our teenage kids were super excited when we arrived. Great place to have a relaxing holiday with family - pool and outside seating excellent. There is a a superb beach just 5 minutes drive from the Villa past the Dragons Cave restaurant and then where the road flattens out you can park on the side of the road and walk down to the beach which was usually empty when we visited.

Would recommend the Dragons Cave and Porphyra restaurants. The standard of food is generally very good but we were not so keen on the Italian on the seafront - the menu was a bit touristy and food average.

Made a day trip to Sitia which was only an hours drive and worth a visit for a change of scene.

Would recommend Villa Lagada without hesitation. Watch out for the deck chairs I broke a little toe on one of them - quality furniture!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and great outside seating and pool
Liked least: Drive up to the Villa the first time - but fun by the end
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2012
Afternoon Rob
Many thanks for the review, as you can imagine with everyone checking TripAdviser before booking anything these days your review will help a great deal.
Hopefully we will hear from you again when you are looking for another fantastic holiday. I think I may have already mentioned it but we now have wifi & satellite TV plus some fabulous furniture for the roof terrace.
Once again many thanks for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 2,098
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing