We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation in tranquility, with stunning views...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of VILLA LAGADA

Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Villa Lagada, why not chill out on one of the 4 balconies or round the pool Your own private pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Villa Lagada with your own pool, pergolas and very large patio
Villa Lagada, why not chill out on one of the 4 balconies or round the pool
Your own private pool
His and hers for the holiday
Mountain views as well as area views
Perfect place for sundowners
Outside shower, great for the kids
New seating area for morning coffee and boat watching
Shade all day long, perfect for those hot summer days
Sea view and shade
Don't waste the view, use the outside bbq and dine alfresco with a view of the sea
Plenty of parking at the front of the villa
Plenty of room to watch a film
Dining Room & Well Equiped Kitchen
Master Bedroom, en suite & balcony
Bedroom 2, en suite & balcony
Downstairs Bedroom, en suite wet room
Twin Bedroom with balcony
Bunk & a Single Bed makes it 11 beds
Makrygialos promenade, great tavernas and local food
Beautiful harbour in town
Makrigialos fishing harbour
Makrigialos Beach, possibly the best in Crete
Diaskari Beach
Take a trip to Mochlos
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Makry-Gialos, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Paul_Moor...
Tessenderlo
1 review
“Relaxation in tranquility, with stunning views and all the comfort in a splendid villa.”
Reviewed 17 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

It's our second time in Crete. The first time, almost 10 years ago we chose for a simple room in Sfakia since we had no children that time. Now with three little children we were looking for tranquility in a luxury villa with all the necessary comfort.
The trip from Heraklion by car took us 2.5 hours ; quite a long time but Crete is so nice that you never get bored ; it was just our first trip!
Arriving at Bay View we were welcomed by Anja Yzerman, a kind and helpful woman that handed us the key and gave us the necessary information. When we arrived at the villa, we really had a "wow"-feeling : it just met our expectations, inside and outside. The view was even better than we expected : while laying on the pool you have a splendid view on the magnificent villa, the Cretan mountains and... the sea of course ! You just can sit there for hours while gazing at the surroundings...
Makrygialos (and its neighbourhood) is a nice, typically Cretan place, not too crowded but still with enough shops, restaurants, bakeries etc. in the neighbourhood. Since the villa has his own large BBQ, we often went to the (amasing high quality!) butchery to buy our stuff there. You just need Cretan olive oil, salt & pepper and... oregano of course (you can pick it everywhere on the island, delicious!). And don't forget to buy the typical Cretan "Raki" (buy the home-made : it's sold in plastic bottles at approx. € 6 for 1.5 liters!). Of course we didn't use the BBQ every day : there are a few good and cosy restaurants where you can eat at reasonable prices.
If you want to go to a larger town you can go to Siteia, it's about 30 minutes by car (you get a nice trip trough the mountains for free as well!). Siteia is small and charming and has all the facilities and shops you need.
We stayed there for 2 weeks, time passed too quickly... it was definitely not our last trip to Crete!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A stunning villa with spectacular views”
Reviewed 6 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We spent a three generation family holiday at the villa and found that we all had ample space and privicy, but plenty of communal areas. The facilities both inside and out were first class and the evening bbq's around the outside dining table were unforgettable. The villa has been furnished to a very high standard and much thought has been given to the outside seating areas providing both sun and shade. The local tavernas are friendly and provide excellent food at a very reasonable price. There are plenty of local supermarkets where you can find all you need for a most relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KillyQwer...
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in an idyllic spot.”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed at lagada for one week and found the villa perfect. The house itself is modern, spacious and beautifully put together. The pool area is so nice, it is difficult to drag yourself away.
The surrounding area is Greece as it used to be, great tavernas, friendly people, reasonable prices and uncrowded beaches. Makriaglos itself is quiet but the combination of the villa and the surrounding countryside is spellbinding. We will be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieandN...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing holiday in a beautiful villa.”
Reviewed 1 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We arrived at Villa Lagada late afternoon, after what seemed a long journey from the airport.
(2+ hours but we stopped a few times along the way). We had to reach the villa via an unmade dusty road, however this did not impact on us in any way. We were greeted by a beautiful property of a very high standard, with a very useful welcome pack of bread, milk, fruit, wine, just what we needed after our journey! The villa had a brilliant bar-b-q too.

The Villa was gorgeous, very comfortable and totally private. We had lovely sea and mountain views, and the pool was really clean and marvellous for the children. A car is essential as we were a couple of miles out of the small resort of Makrogialos. A visit to the old harbour, with all it's tavernas right on the waters edge is a must. The beach is very small but very clean, and the water here is crystal clear. You can buy fresh fish from the local fisherman at the harbour but you must be there early around 8.30 am!

The weather was excellent, although we did have one afternoon of rain. We went shopping in Ierapetra and used the two main supermarkets there which were very good.

This part of Crete is really pretty, and uncommercialised. Going up onto the roof terrace at night, stargazing and watching out for shooting stars was fab! Our time there also coincided with a lunar exclipse, which was quite magical.

To sum up, we stayed in a fabulous villa, had an extremely relaxing time, in an area that grows on you, and we would definitely stay here again. We returned a very happy family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supremeco...
Sheffied
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Staying at Villa Lagada”
Reviewed 28 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Summary

A superb new-built luxury villa with great facilities, very confortable stunning outlook and views and plenty of space for large family or groups of friends and owners interested in feedback and keen to ensure everything is perfect for their guests.

In more detail..

The villa is built on the hills above the coast about 15 minute’s walk from the nearest beach and 10 minutes drive from the town. It is in a secluded spot with a large area of land around it and other villas dotted around the hill. When you relax round the pool all you can hear are birds and the rustle of shrubs and splashing from the pool- it's a lovely spot.

There is a nice private pool with water temperature just right for cooling off. It's lit at night giving a really nice feel to the patio area. There is plenty of seating on the patio in two or three areas and one space for 6-8 people to sit and chat or play cards right next to the pool. There are plenty of good quality sun loungers too if you want to roast yourself. The patio is enclosed by a shallow wall and bordered with a lovely collection of plants and shrubs making it very colourful. You can walk right around the villa taking in the views and flowers. Outside of the patio wall is raw Greece - stony red ground with infant olive trees and native vegetation. You can explore the grounds but need a good pair of shoes – leave you flip-flops by the pool! A wall around the outskirts of the property is planned which will be a good finishing touch and will children roam safely within bounds.

While we were there the drive way was just being finished and it was interesting to watch this develop. At the foot of the drive you are back in wild Greece so don't expect a tarmac road until you reach the coast road.

Round the corner near the pool there is a large stone table which will seat 10-12 and a great barbeque area with rotisserie and we have fun spit roasting chickens and a whole side of lamb. I understand a pergola is being added to this area too.

Inside the villa - and we only went inside to sleep and eat one night - there is a good amount space. The kitchen is well equipped with toaster, microwave, dishwasher, cooker, hob, large fridge freezer and washing machine. There is a large table for eating inside. In the lounge there is a large flat screen TV and PlayStation type things so the kids can get out of the heat and do their thing if necessary. We did not once turn the TV on.

There is also a useful desk and plenty of power points around so if you need to do some work you can set-up a laptop etc. and have a mini-office - see the note about Internet later. Being Greece however, it's Euro wall outlets so take your adapters, but there are some spare ones provided too. We took a four way block so everyone could plug there iPods etc. in and charge on the desk area.

There is a good double bedroom with en-suite and monsoon showerhead downstairs with reasonable cupboard space. Upstairs there are four more bedrooms, all four with balconies with fantastic views. The master bedroom in huge with great en suite facilities and from memory one other bedroom has en suite. There is a shared bathroom for the other two rooms. The property sleeps 11 with one room have a bunk bed which is fun for the kids.

The local town has good shops - supermarkets, butcher and fabulous cake shop and countless bars and restaurants. I am not sure you will find wild discos everywhere if you want that but you will find very friendly restaurateurs and inn keepers. Check out Gusto’s and look up Demitri at the Olympio bar. There is a nice beach with shallow waters about 20m from a line of bars. In May the resort is beginning to wake up.

We took three or four longer trips to the East and North of the island and, unless you want to simply laze around the villa pool, a car is essential. The drive from the main airport is an hour and half to two hours which is a bit long, but the scenery is good and the quieter, less developed south side of Crete was for us much nicer than the “Rave Central” and crowded beaches of Malia!

We drove to Mochlos for lunch, ended up staying for dinner and the bouzouki band and checking into a 35Euro a night hotel and leaving the next day - it's such a lovely place, food was spectacular and the Greek music night compelling.

Yannis at the ancient Winery on the way to Xerokampos will look after you and you can spend a good couple of hours tasting local wine and olive oil with him.

Finally we found the owners interested in our ideas and comments and very willing to try to make improvements to ensure the holiday and the villa is second to none in Crete.




Other thoughts:
Families with young children who have not learned to swim should note the pool is not fenced off and supervision is required.

Makrygialos is not a wild swinging town so if you want 24/7 partying you are probably better going Malia etc.

When we stayed the telephone had not yet been connected to there was not Internet. There is limited 3G and Phone service but we understand from the owners the telephone will be installed at some point.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 2,098
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing