We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
12
17
17
9
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
17
17
9
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Stayed for a week in one of the timeshare rooms. Ours had a living room with table (eckbank) and chairs and one lounge chair. Not comfortable for long periods. Small TV, no English stations. The bedroom was a loft with narrow stairs, had to be careful coming down, especially with suitcases. Bed was not too comfortable. There was a small (tiny) refrigerator but no cooking facilities. Balcony looked out to the beautiful Alps! The hotel has an elevator, pool, sauna, steam, beer garden, and restaurant. We ate breakfast once and decided it wasn't worth the price. They gave us each a pass good for many things including the cog train to Lake Eibsee, a motor boat ride on the lake, bus rides to Garmisch and one trip to the town spa. The area is great with many hiking and biking trails and beautiful scenery. Probably would stay here again unless another time share was available in the area.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randycoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

One of the main points of staying in a hotel is to get a reasonable night's sleep. I did not get one good night's sleep - mainly down to the really uncomfortable beds. Thin wooden slats, covered by a mattress no more than three inches thick, do not make a comfortable bed - nowhere for shoulders and hips to go when sleeping on your side. So I have to give an overall low rating.
The hotel has some lovely views towards the Zugspitze and other mountains; it has some nice walks nearby - though, having now seen its location compared to the 'centre' of Grainau, next time I would choose a hotel in the centre.
Our room overlooked the road, which was generally not a problem, though traffic did start up around 6:00am. The railway nearby was also not a problem.
The room was a bit worn out with inadequate lighting so it was very gloomy, the bathroom rather small.
There was a group of guests for whom all conversations, at whatever time of day or night, whether in their room, on their balconies, or in the corridors, had to be at full volume, even if there were only two of them. So this added to the disturbance.
The breakfasts were basic and simple, nothing to get excited about - but I wish they had more fruit.
We ate in the restaurant for a few dinners - an impressive choice of menu, with emphasis on what they called "Balkan" meals (I think the restaurant owners are from the former Yugoslavia). We enjoyed the choices on offer so I can recommend the restaurant if you are staying nearby
But I would not return to the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here in one of the Timeshare rooms, room 205. The room overlooked the Biergarten and had a pleasant balcony. We weren't disturbed by noise from the garden (the weather kept people out of it most of the time!).

Our room had a small kitchen area but only had a sink and a useful fridge. It had a seating area and table. As other reviews have said, arguably the hotel decor needs refreshing, but that didn't detract from our stay. We didn't use the pool or sauna.

We didn't have a lot to do with hotel staff apart from the restaurant team who were very pleasant and hard working. Breakfast was an excellent buffet, hot and cold. The restaurant in the evenings was often busy. It has a Balkan menu but with plenty of local dishes too. The food was excellent, plentiful and reasonably priced. A good selection of beers too.

The hotel is a couple of Kilometres away from the centre of Grainau - a short drive or pleasant 30 minute walk. It's about 4K from Garmisch-Partenkirchen. It's also very well placed for most of the chair lifts and cog railways in the area. A good spot.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AR-Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here 3 years ago and really liked the hotel saying we would return when next staying in the area. However, we were a bit disappointed. Hotel looking a bit tired now. Eg curtain missing, balcony floor covering torn. Pool is good but really a bit too cold. Breakfast was good. Nice garden area but needs a bit of attention. Restaurant now offering Balkan menu - bit different but would have preferred more traditional menu. Staff friendly. Views from room fantastic and the village is lovely.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gin4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was not a cozy hotel as I had hoped. It was run-down, outdated and dark inside our room. The shower head would not stay in place when showering. Not a big deal, but no wifi here. The breakfast was big and good. The view was also nice. There was not much to do around the hotel, but dinner at the nearby Schmölzer Wirt was an excellent surprise.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews