We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 87
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 45
US$ 39
Hotels.com
View Deal
Wulingyuan Hotel(Zhangjiajie)
US$ 43
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 23
Booking.com
View Deal
Aimuqingjy Hotel(Zhangjiajie)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 39
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ananzhijia Inn(Zhangjiajie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Anju Tese Hostel(Zhangjiajie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
13
18
19
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
18
19
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We selected this hotel as it is located close to the South Entrance of the Zhangjiajie Forest Park. We had some problems in finding this hotel as the name is written only in Chinese and the people on the street did not understand English. After check-in which took us for a while we found out that the room was not provided with soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The odour from the toilet was so strong that we had to close it all the time. There was no tea (or the facility for making tea/coffee) in the room. We acknowledged that the room and the beds were clean.

The picture of the hotel with the mountains was misleading as we booked the room with mountain view and we didn't see any mountains

Breakfast was intended mainly for local tourists. No tea (coffee is rarely provided in budget hotels in China) was available, although hot water was provided. Only fried rice, fried noodle together with some fried vegetables and tufu were available.

We moved out the next day to find another nearby hotel with better quality and cost of less than half of what we paid at Pipaxi.

Room Tip: Not recommended
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Pipaxi 2 seperate nights in different rooms before and after our visit to the nearby park. It is evident that the hotel has a good locations and builds.on that. The rooms were ok at the most. Lots of stains everywhere and fungi in both bathrooms.
Breakfast was, as stated in earlier reviews asian and not western.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nienkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This hotel is located by the southern entrance to Zhangjiajie Forest Park. It's about a 15 minute walk to the ticket counters at the entrance. The taxi drivers in the area will all tell you to go to Pipaxi Hotel because foreign and national dignitaries have gone and stayed there, but the staff tell me this is not true for recent years.

The hotel itself is infested with bugs, there's mosquitoes in the rooms, courtyard, and basically everywhere. There are bugs about two-inches long that creep around the hallways, and its rather scary. The friendliness of the staff really did make up for the overall poor experience with the room environment (room 2117).

The shower in the room was excellent. The water was always hot, and the water came out at a very high pressure, easily washing away a day's sweat. Soap is provided only in bar form, and the towels can be slightly uncomfortable. The A/C needs to be kept on at all times to dehumidify the room, otherwise your pillows and sheets will be wet in the morning due to the humidity of the environment.

The staff were willing to negotiate prices of the rooms at the front desk, so tell them you saw XX price online, and say that you want that price. They matched it for me, and it saves them money. There are posted prices, but they are way over the price you should expect to pay (around 200 RMB per night or less for a standard room).

To get to the city centre, take the bus. There's this bus that comes during the day, and takes you to the South Train Station in town near McDonald's and the bus station for 10 RMB per head. Don't get fooled by the cars that tell you that there's no bus. Ask the staff, and tell them that you want the 10 RMB bus. The bus has no marked stops. You have to stand on the street opposite the hotel and wave your hand when it comes.

WiFi was not password protected, and is run off a loose infrastructure of routers hanging from door frames. It's not fast at all, and I found that using a 4G or 3G connection was actually much quicker. Breakfast vouchers were included, but it was just congee and some small eats. Not exactly enough to fill you up for a whole day's hike. There's a store next to the lobby area that sells essentials.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank youyouxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the main entrance of ZJJ park. Staff is very friendly and have free tea and coffee at the bar. Rooms are comfortable and good size. Staff was very helpful giving advice for the park. All necessary signs and maps are in English an have English speaking staff.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We picked it for the location. The rooms are very good and the area is nice. Breakfast was not good at all. Very little selection and only Chinese. Everything is served in big stainless steel pots and huge spoons. To me it felt like an army cantine. My girlfriend felt it was like a refugee camp.
No English was spoken there.
There are some good restaurants nearby. Most have a similar menu. The big plus is that it is walking distance to the entry of the park. Good for an early start.
You take the bus near the train station and they will drop you here for 10RMB.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews