We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Well Maintained Family Campground, Great Location”
Review of Cape Hatteras KOA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Hatteras KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location is excellent for anyone wanting quiet, rest and relaxation. The campground offers direct beachfront access with washrooms directly behind the dunes. Restrooms and showers were spotless and campground is well managed and maintained. The staff was great; attentive, courteous and helpful. Views are great in the morning and evening, two fishing piers are close as well as a cafe and DQ.

Room Tip: Storms can be violent and quick , I recommend a cottage over tenting. Buy your groceries at the Foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank therman17404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our family stayed here mid july. The front staff was verry friendly and helpful. He stayed in a cabin which was very clean, a/c worked great, and they had enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The restrooms and showers were clean but sandy from the beach but it's expected. It had a great playground area for kids as well. You are walking distance to the beach. Our family will deffinetly return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The KOA Campground in Cape Hatteras was relatively decent.

The cabins are pretty small and fit around 3-4 people.

Most of the activities in the campground cost additional fees to use, but the free activities included going to the beach (Outer Banks), the pool, the playground, and the trampoline-like bounce pad.

This campground isn't for the "forest/wilderness" type camping, there isn't much trees or wilderness.

The Outer Banks was beautiful, clear water and very nice waves. At night/morning it is very nice to look out in the Outer Banks.

One really big negative point about this campground is that the staff (the people riding around in the golf carts with the yellow uniforms) are very rude.

The campground staff talk down on the guests. A nearby guest set up their tent on the wrong camp site (his camp site was just a couple yards from the his mistaken spot) and one of the staff told him to move his tent in a very rude attitude saying remarks like "Do you think I'm stupid? I know you put your tent on the wrong spot!", it was as if he were belittling the guest.

Another incident, was when my cousin and I got on the bounce pad and right when I was about to start bouncing, a staff member yelled at me to get off. I asked if we weren't allowed to use the bounce pad at the moment and he shouted back "Get off or do you want me to throw you off?". I told him we were just asking a question and why he was being so rude to us. As we were leaving to go for a night stroll, the same staff member followed us and threatened us that he can call the sheriff on us (threatening us for no reason). As my cousin tried to tell him that we didn't do anything, he shot back at him saying "Quiet! I don't need any of your wise lip!". Afterwards he asked us "Are you all Filipino?", as if implying some possible racism.

For the rest of the stay, whenever we saw that same staff member, he would glare at us.

Despite the bad staff, our stay at the campground was pretty fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

One side of the campground is on the Atlantic and one side is on Pamlico Sound. The views are stunning! The staff was friendly and helpful, even following us to our site and helping us get backed in and situated. The staff also patrols the campground all day in golf carts providing customer service and a helping hand where needed and all night making the campground safe. We had a wonderful time here enjoying the campground and the ocean. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey, otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our first KOA experience and we just loved it. The staff were very friendly. the camp store had everything you could possibly need. The bathhouse had central air and was wonderful. the showers were seperate making it very convenient. We had a pavilion over our picnic table that came in very handy during a storm that blew in.
We have a popcamper and a tent and the site fit it all very nicely. biggest spot we have ever camped on. the wind did make it challenging for setting up the tent but overall we didnt have much of a problem. Next year we plan to be closer to the beach and dog walk. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank froglover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rodanthe
38.3 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,639 reviews
37.9 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
36.7 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 km away
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
26.9 km away
Avon Cottages
Avon Cottages
#4 of 4 in Avon
32 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Sound Motel
Sea Sound Motel
#1 of 1 in Rodanthe
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras KOA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras KOA

Address: Route 12, Rodanthe, NC 27968
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Rodanthe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rodanthe
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Koa Hotel Rodanthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing