We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Convenient spot, free parking. great restaurants and bars nearby within walking distance, slow elevators,

Room Tip: ask where the lights are for the bldg and avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    164
    98
    44
    46
See reviews for
77
102
29
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed here for a state licensure test. Rooms were huge. Parking was easy in the deck directly built into the building. Restaurant on the top was great for breakfast with an exceptional view to watch the sunrise and read the morning paper.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DacronStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I stayed here for one night as I needed somewhere cheap-ish, clean and near the centre of Raleigh. This place fitted the bill. It's not the worlds most sophisticated place, but the room was large enough, and it was clean. Free internet (cabled). No mini-bar (as I recall) but so what. OK, it is a little dated inside and a little faded around the edges, but that was acceptable given the price. The staff were friendly enough.
The location is good. About 5 minutes walk to the state capital, and 10 minutes walk to down-town.
I didn't try the restaurant or bar so I can't comment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Manager W.Kim stood up when I knocked & posted a letter w/o payment. I'm a priest w/ diagnosed under a doctor's care & taking meds. Last wk I grieve friends suicide & was terminated @ work: high stress. Tina streamlined check-in and finding a restaurant and adding a day to my stay at a price lower than Orbitz's. Octavia found the radio station I needed and cut a toe-bandage to size. Ashley chatted with me about Congressman Weiner and served an excellent breakfast. The catering officer fixed my malfunctioning coffeepot. The maintenance man opened a tylenol bottle, and the housekeeper gave me extra soap. Jacob and especially Tina listened to my bizarre true stories with interest but no invasiveness. Tina went special lengths to find how I could buy a hip-flask bottle of whisky. These people saw to my every need, acting like it was nothing, and I hope this evaluation advances their careers--since I know Tina and Octavia (maybe others) are working more than one job. Bless them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielcmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I was here May 22 and 23, solo traveler, and had a perefectly fine experience. My room was 1013. Large, comfy, clean. Sheets and towels changed each day; clean bathroom, clean room. My only issue was that when the a/c came on there was a vibrating sound that was annoying. Parked my car for free, used the free "R" bus to get around one day; front desk was very helpful with my tourist questions and with suggestions. If you can afford twice the cost, you can stay at the Sheraton downtown. One day I actually walked from the Sheraton area back to this hotel, so the location was convenient. I used the business center twice and Internet, etc. worked fine. Good value, good location, good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 km away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 86 in Raleigh
67 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
1.9 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 86 in Raleigh
152 reviews
2.9 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,557 - ₹ 11,691
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing