We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here just 1 night while visiting family. We thought it was a nice property. The staff were friendly...breakfast was good. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skorreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and nice comments. We look forward to your return visit and maybe next time you can stay a little longer :)

Gratefully,

Milton P. Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    58
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
76
29
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed at this location several times and it is always a good stay. I found this place when my normal Raleigh Hotel was overbooked and I was pleased at what I found. The location was good as it is far enough away from I-40 that you do not hear any road noise. It is not very far to get to food and NC State is just up the road on Gorman St. The facility is well maintained and the rooms are very clean. I have always stayed in the King rooms, and they are very well equiped. Wireless internet, large LCD tv's and plenty of desk space to get some work done. The breakfast bar is the standard Holiday inn Express fare, but the atmosphere in the breakfast area is nice with a gas fireplace and a large screen tv. The food was good and the area was very clean. Front desk staff is always good, I have no complaints with this hotel.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoe28734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Unfortunately, that “other” hotel lost out and we gained! We plan to take the best care of you, while you visit the Greater Raleigh area. Thank you for your kind words. (Now that spring/summer is upon us don’t forget your bathing suit next time)

Gratefully,

Milton P. Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our loyalty is 100% with Holiday Inn Express now. Their pet-friendly hotel saved our vacation plans this week. Forever grateful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We appreciate your stay and welcome your loyalty to our brand. There are allot of choices of hotels and we are glad you and your pet chose us! We look forward to your return visit :)

Sincerely,
Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Had a few issues that sort of annoyed me.

We were notified that the points program for Holiday Inn would be revamped soon and decided to redeem our points before the changes took effect. We packed up the family for a quick overnight stay.

Upon check-in, we requested to upgrade our standard/double-bed room to include a sleeper sofa, to better accommodate our son. We were told that the point redemption was only for a standard room. We were a bit perplexed since we were already paying to add additional points for the one night stay in the first place. If we were willing to pay more for it, what difference would it make which type of room? Heck, it's money! It's YOUR rewards program, you should be able to make exceptions, right?

In a nutshell:

Pros:
Bed was comfortable
Complimentary breakfast was excellent
Received a free newspaper
Indoor pool
Exercise room
Laundry room

Cons:
Found hair in tub
Pool water was on the cool side
Had to ask for our tables to be cleaned for breakfast, after noting several were dirty
Internet connection was on the slow side
Staff was cordial but not accommodating with their own program

It was necessary to travel a short way down the road to access food/grocery items. There was also an independent delivery service available if you ordered take-out from a nearby restaurant.

I'm glad we could use our points before they were diluted under a new program, but I can't say we will be rushing to rack up additional points anytime soon. With all the amenities they have, it's still a good deal, I just wish they were more accommodating with their accommodations. It definitely would have shaped a more pleasant experience for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPShareTube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for being a very valued Priority Club member. We do our best to accommodate our most loyal guests, Priority Club members; however in some instance it’s not always possible. When redeeming your Priority Club points for a Reward Night reservation, those points are only able to reserve a standard room. We do offer complimentary upgrades, when available, to our Platinum members. When those complimentary upgrades are not available, our only recourse is to accommodate the original reservation. I am truly sorry that we could not accommodate you as requested. We are in the business of accommodating and that’s just what we try to do.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this stay in detail. Free feel to contact myself, Milton Hamilton GM, at the hotel when convenient for you. We value all our guests and want everyone to enjoy their time with us. I am confident we can agree on something :)

Kindest regards,
Milton Hamilton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

From checking in to express check out was fabulous. The owner, Bill and the young lady on third shift was phenomenal. We spent New Years weekend here and they made it feel like a home away from home. We missed the breakfast, but I can only imagine great service and food first thing in the morning. In my group there was 5 people and we checked in a two queen bed and a pull out sofa and it was more than enought room for us all and one of us is handicap. So we need the extra room and bathroom support and etc...There is nothing my group or I can say bad about this place. :) OW YEA! The pool,Jacuzzi was great after a ruff and fun weekend. :) Area was very clean and quite and relaxing. When i come back to the area, I will stay here again. THANKS TO THE HOLIDAY INNN STAFF!

Room Tip: If your booking online and plan to bring friends along, make sure to add them to the list of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamingtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Benjamin Franklin famously said, “Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each New Year find you a better man (or women).” Thanks for spending your New Year’s weekend with us!! We will look forward to your return visit.

In hospitality,
Milton Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.6 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
4.8 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 85 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
5.4 km away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
5.6 km away
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Address: 3741 Thistledown Dr, Raleigh, NC 27606-4676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,951 - ₹ 11,248
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's property boasts an enjoyable country setting while being convenient to all the big city attractions and businesses. The Holiday Inn Express® Raleigh Southwest - NC State hotel is also proud to offer a 100% smoke-free facility and a location just off I-40 at exit 295. With quick access to such businesses as Siemens Training & Development Center, SAS and Cisco in the Raleigh area, our hotel offers corporate guests a quick commute to clients. We also make catching up with out-of-office work a breeze with complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, available throughout the hotel, and a Business Center that allows you to print, copy and fax. One of the best things about staying with us is that we're just a few miles from NC State. The hotel's accommodations provide a perfect location for Wolfpack fans and for those attending a concert or athletic event at the RBC Center or the Time Warner Cable Pavilion. Other area attractions include Lake Johnson Park and the North Carolina Museum of Art. Additional hotel amenities, like our indoor, heated swimming pool, whirlpool and Fitness Center, make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to fill up on sausage, bacon, eggs and our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary Express Start Breakfast while you watch one of the 52-inch cable TVs in the Great Room. We look forward to making our hotel your new home in Raleigh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At Nc State Sw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing