We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavily perfumed room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavily perfumed room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you have allergies and are bothered by strong scents, then find another place to stay. Our room was heavily scented — I imagine it's supposed to be nice, smell fresh — but scents don't mean clean. The aroma gave me a headache. And we couldn't get away from it, the bedding smelled of it, the provided shampoo and soaps. We tried opening the sliding glass door to air out the room, but someone was smoking on the next balcony over. Hotels need to eliminate the fragrances and just make sure the space is clean.

Also, the hotel needs to reconsider the centrally controlled thermostat. In the room we had a thermostat, of sorts, but we only had a range of temperatures to work with. The room was hot and the thermostat would not fall beneath 70 — and we like to sleep in a cooler room. My husband called the front desk and the woman said she would check to see how the hotel thermostat worked.

The hotel room is pretty average. In the bathroom there were gaps between tiles, a crack or two, chipped flooring.

Could too easily hear people in the next room, so I'd say it's fairly noisy.

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyToTravel_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    281
    177
    80
    34
See reviews for
278
111
29
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I read the reviews in Trip Advisor before I stayed at the Brownstone, so I had an idea of what I was in for. And some of the things in the reviews were definitely true. For example, the walls are extremely thin and the doors do not seal well, so the hall noise and noise between rooms is very loud. Also, the heating A/C system leaves a lot to be desired. If the entire hotel system is set to heat when you want heat, you'll get it, but if the hotel is set on A/C, you're out of luck.

Those things aside, there were definitely great things to be said about my stay there. The furniture and decor in the rooms were very nice. And the mattresses were memory foam and extremely comfortable. There were also lots of pillows, which is nice. The breakfast was very good and had a lot of options (cereal, oatmeal, fruit, breads, hot foods, yogurt, etc), although the service left a bit to be desired. The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. Parking was plentiful. I had no problems connecting to the complimentary internet, and the connection was strong. And the location was perfect for those visiting people at NC State or even attending meetings in downtown Raleigh.

Was it the best hotel I've stayed in? No. Would I stay there again? Yes. You can't get nearly the same amenities for the same price at any other hotel in Raleigh.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Let me start by saying that the weekend that we stayed at the Doubletree-Raleigh was a "Sci-Fi" illogicon weekend bonanza that was being hosted by the hotel. What this meant was that the movie "Revenge of the Nerds" was in living action at the hotel. There were sci-fi maniacs dressed in their favorite sci-fi costumes (Darth Vaders everywhere, various devil looking creatures, people in trench coats with masks, people with light sabers, and various other creature looking tweens to adults) creating a ruckus for the entire weekend. There were select rooms on floors 2, 6, and 8 that were noisy at all times due to these guests who seemed more mystified at being away from their computer for longer than 10 minutes than keeping an enjoyable environment to EVERYONE in the hotel. Someone urinated/dropped booze on our car from one of the balcony rooms and there were people in the parking lot doing photo-shoots for their magazines.

Despite these issues, the staff was amazingly accommodating for the other guests. They were clearly flustered by the other guests but kept the hotel clean by discarding the cans of beer that were left on the different floors, taking down the various flyers advertising geek-get togethers at night, and trying to keep the noise to a minimum. Nevertheless, the hotel was extremely loud at night and the walls are paper thin so we could hear anytime that our neighbors flushed the toilet or otherwise sneezed at all. The hotel has been recently remodeled and although the rooms looked great, the hotel is clearly showing its age from the outside and some of the fixtures (like the toilets and showers) on the inside.

Breakfast in the morning left much to be desired. The cold foods/drinks were served warm and the hot items were served luke-warm. One thing I've noticed at all the Doubletree label hotels I've stayed at is that their breakfasts are mediocre and I would not have paid the near $15.00 per plate; but I received free breakfast for being Hilton HHonors Diamond. The internet was fast enough to serve its purpose for us and there was enough parking as well (although the pee/alcohol upset us-we realize the hotel didn't do this). The rate was fair although we were somewhat disappointed that there was no shuttle for the local area considering the price we did pay. There is also a lounge in the lobby that we didn't use because the sci-fi convention took it over.

I would recommend this hotel, but not if there was an event being hosted at the hotel and let me also say that there are other options within a 3 mile radius that would cost less and likely newer (FYI-There is a difference between a remodeled hotel and a new one)...So choose wisely

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor-they are a safety risk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly. I stayed in a double room and the beds are very comfortable. The pillows are my favorite. The rooms are spacious with nice furniture and tv. There is a coffee maker in the rooms with coffees and teas to choose from. Breakfast is available for a charge. The continental breakfast is a little pricey at $7 for what you get: some fruit, muffins, yogurt, cereal and some pastries. $7 just seemed a little high for what was offered considering its free at many hotels. There is a big selection of made to order items on the menu. Despite the cleanliness and great staff, it didn't make up for the noise at the hotel. The walls are extremely thin. I could hear everything from neighboring rooms including the phone ringing which sounded like it was in my room. Street noise was also incredibly loud. I often wondered if my balcony door was open because it was so loud. I was in town for business and found working in my room to be difficult because of the noise. If you will only be in your room at night and are a heavy sleepy then this is a great hotel. Otherwise, you may want to pass on staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I was a little skeptical after reading some of the older reviews, but this hotel has been renovated. It was very clean, spacious lobby, quiet (although we were there at a quiet time of year). We had a king room that was a nice size. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was of a good quality, lots of fluffy pillows. We only paid $98 for a one night stay on a Saturday, which I thought was very, very reasonable. We've paid more than that at let's say "other" hotels with flat pillows, thin blankets, worn towels and less that clean bathrooms. The only thing I noticed that could be a problem if the hotel was busier is you could very clearly hear people in the hallway. We couldn't her any neighbors through our wall but could easily hear conversations and screaming children through corridor doors.

I think this hotel was well worth what we paid, and I wish other abundant chain hotels would offer this level of quality for this price. Oh, and if you're visiting someone at NC State the location couldn't be any better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyofFiveNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.4 km away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#27 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
5.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.1 km away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,395 - ₹ 16,623
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing