We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Pilot Mountain State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Pinnacle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Drove to the top, it was a gorgeous Saturday afternoon Easter weekend. It was crowded but we were able to find a parking space. Walked to a couple lookout areas and you could see for miles and miles. Winston-Salem in one direction and Blue Ridge Mountains the other. Some guy had is llamas up there, got to pet them and take a pictures. They were dressed up for Easter! Haha
Definitely glad we stopped to check it out!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dstelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hiking trails"
in 45 reviews
"winston salem"
in 37 reviews
"great hiking"
in 18 reviews
"short hike"
in 14 reviews
"easy hike"
in 10 reviews
"great place to hike"
in 9 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 20 reviews
"ranger station"
in 9 reviews
"day trip"
in 24 reviews
"rock climbing"
in 19 reviews
"picnic area"
in 13 reviews
"the loop"
in 7 reviews
"winding road"
in 7 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 7 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 10 reviews
"north carolina"
in 19 reviews
"visitor center"
in 11 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

From the highway look for the sign indicating the exit for Pilot Mountain. Nice beautiful drive up to the top- short uneven walk to reach the observation deck- I would not attempt if your not sure footed. Beautiful views. Restrooms at both parking lots at the base and the top.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jdehaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

There is a narrow twisty drive going up to the parking lot . On a busy day there is a line halfway down the mountain . Don’t get discouraged ! It is well worth the experience .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jrscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed in the area over Easter weekend. Drove to the top on Friday afternoon. Nice place. Easy to navigate. Very pretty country side. Nice drive up the hill. We went back on Saturday afternoon and couldn't get to the top. Cars backed up, very crowded. Visitors center parking is hard to come by. It's great to look at the mountain but I don't know how crowded it would be in the summer. Just go and be patient.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My husband and I traveled to Winston -Salem for Easter weekend. Pilot Mountain was only a half hour drive from where we were staying so we decided to spend one day sight-seeing in Mount Airy and then visit Pilot Mountain on the return trip. Your are able to drive up to the top of a nearby pinnacle summit to view Pilot Mountain and take pictures. Pilot Mountain itself is accessible by hiking only. There is a trail that goes around the base of the mountain. We did not have time to take the trail, but were able to take some great pictures. The path to the top of the summit is not smooth and required some strategic moves to get there, but the views were worth it. Luckily it was a short hike. You did not have to hike to the top of the summit though as beautiful scenic views could be seen from look-outs platforms found a short distance from the parking lot.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MaryS6117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilot Mountain State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pilot Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing