We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short family break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Strefford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
freetowan...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short family break”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booked for a long weekend to get out walking and a bit of relaxation. Arrived to homemade cake and chocolate to get us started. Had a great time, very quiet, lots to do nearby. Knowledgeable host and ideas folder with the property. Games room attached is basic but enjoyable. Hot tub is well maintained and house is clean and comfortable. Dog friendly with small enclosed area attached to house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing weekend ”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

If you are looking for a venue for a large family celebration, then look no further! This cottage along with the other 4 are all finished beautifully and packed with character. The provisions in the kitchen were excellent and the home made cake and wine were a lovely special touch! The games barn or the 'party room' as we called it - is where all 38 of us joined together in the evenings to celebrate my 40th birthday, which was ideal and then the hot tubs were the cherry on the cake. Set in an idyllic location surrounded by countryside and has lots of lovely walks to blow the cobwebs away! The owner, marianne was so helpful throughout the lead up to the weekend- answering all the little questions I had. I can't recommend this place enough - don't think twice about booking your break here.. you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house, peaceful location!”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here with Bert our Border Terrrier for a week. The house is lovely, comfortable and well-equipped. There was homemade cake, wine and chocolate waiting for us on our arrival. The area is very peaceful, at night all you hear is the odd owl hooting. The house is located within reach of most tourist attractions. Long Mynd and the Stiperstones are a must. We would recommend The Wain House to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronniesut...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing cottage with added bonus of a hot tub”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at the Wain House in March 2014. Sykes moved us here after a disastrous 2 days at another property. The Wain House lived up to expectations in every respect . It was well appointed, the furnishings and fittings were of a high standard. Everything was beautifully clean and well kept. There was wine and chocolates waiting for us and the following day a wonderful coffee and walnut cake arrived. The hot tub was great, so relaxing. Even in March we used it every day. There are walks from the door and the whole place is very peaceful and relaxing. The hot tub was well maintained with checks done every day. There are other barn conversions on the site and all are very well maintained. All in all a very relaxing stay and I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable cottage, well equipped with great hot tub
Liked least: Internet wouldn't work inside property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback, we're glad that you were able to help you have such a brilliant time. It's fantastic that you got good use of the hot tub, even in March, it can really help to make a holiday nice and relaxing. The added extras sound perfect and the cake sounds delicious. Lets get your next holiday booked soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKellyBir...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful, calm and peaceful with everything you need”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We have stayed at the Wain House every year for five years now, and originally found it out as we needed somewhere very quiet and doggy friendly.
We were so impressed that we return every year now without fail, and will never go anywhere else!
All the barn conversions here are amazing and the standard, decor and attention to detail is incredible. Right from the start of the booking to the end of your holiday, you will find friendly helpful owners, who are on site but not intrusive, a lovely welcome pack (and even doggy biscuits), towels are included, and most little things, like tea/sugar/cleaning products etc that you would normally have to take yourself are included.
It is so quiet and peaceful, lots of lovely walks around the lanes and lots of pretty villages to visit. Everywhere is doggy friendly which is great and the owners have dogs themselves who are very friendly.
The Wain House now even has a hot tub which is lovely! It is so comfortable and has a private fenced in patio area, safe for dogs and kids.
Cannot reccomend it enough...brilliant place...would come every few months if we could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and comfort
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 95
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing