We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They never disappoint!”
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“They never disappoint!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We come to Ocracoke every year during the winter season and the Pony Island is the place we always stay. Everything is peaceful, clean, well appointed and nicely maintained. It is really an excellent choice for the money. The staff is helpful and friendly. I love the fact that they leave the key in the door for you when you arrive after office hours. Even in the winter season, the Pony Island restaurant is open for breakfast. It is a traditional and tasty Southern breakfast offering. The weather cooperated nicely with us this year and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The Pony Island helped to make our stay an enjoyable one. They never disappoint!

Room Tip: We prefer the poolside rooms, as they are a little larger and are equipped with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachcombersNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    62
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
69
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Second time here at Ocracoke. We came for the beach to be on with the 4*4.
The Pony Island Motel is very nice, you park near the room and also having a hose to clean the salty windows.
This place is very well maintan, the rooms are very nice and seems like new. Comfortable and quite at night. All I have to say is good, perfect to stay. Ocracoke is a very small place so there is not a lot of people around, cool N quite. Long Beach to fish swim walk and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We needed to stay one night to catch the ferry the next day. Some places require two weekend nights. Office staff was very accomodating. Place was spotless and in a great location. We parked and walked to dine. Will return and spend more time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I brought my family on a NC light house tour and spent the first 2 nights at the Pony Island Inn. It was perfect. Clean, relaxing, beautiful beaches....a great beginning to our vacation. I'll go back soon...this time for a week.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leuteha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We booked the Trent Cottage, run by the Pony Island Motel, for aug 20 to aug 27, 2011.

This cottage was absolutely spotless. Simple, lovely, comfortable and spacious. It really went above and beyond our expectations. It has a rustic feel with wood walls, ceramic tile in the main living areas and bathrooms, carpeting in the bedrooms. This is a lovely sized cottage. Washer and dryer included. Very large and comfortable kitchen with everything you could possibly need for a stay. We even baked cookies! Would highly recommend getting fresh catch from the fisherman's co-op and cooking for yourself. So fresh and good, you will not regret it!

Pool at the Pony Island is available to cottage renters as well.

I really can't say enough positive things about the cottage, the people who run the motel or the island itself. Our vacation was cut short by Hurricane Irene, but no matter...we will be back! This is how great they are...they prorated our stay and refunded our credit card. I mean, that's just excellent service.

Praying for the safety of Ocracoke and its people. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
29.8 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
28.5 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
28.4 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#4 of 7 in Ocracoke
160 reviews
28.1 km away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
69 reviews
29.1 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Property: Pony Island Motel
Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing