We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value for the Money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BridgePointe Hotel And Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Nice big room, excellent location, walk to dining, lovely Marina, nice staff and have returned once since original visit and plan to return every time I'm out that way.

Room Tip: Top floor is always a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harpotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    70
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
52
62
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Location is great, just next door to Outback (well, if you like that!), good parking. Check-in was straight forward. Along a long hallway to the room - walking on a carpet that should perhaps be cleaned twice a day... Room was quite spacious, all lights worked (except in the bathroom where the switched was funky), but: no desk. No chair at the small round table either, but two armchairs (dust clouds raising when one sits down!). WiFi reception was poor (only worked when sitting on the toilet - not the most comfortable position). Breakfast was - average. I don't know why it's call "continental" - nobody on the Continent would eat this!

On day two, I was joined by a 2 inch roach. Caught in the act, I scooped it up and took it to the reception desk as evidence. Reaction? "Oh, I hate these things but we have a lot of these water roaches in the area." Really? Then I suggest you get rid of them!

Overall, I would hesitate to spend another night here. Might be a good idea to go further out of town if all else is booked. Would only treat it as a last resort.

Room Tip: Perhaps better WiFi reception near the entrance????
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at BridgePointe Hotel And Marina, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
In response to your comments regarding our hotel we would first like to thank you for your input. We apologize for any inconvenience during your visit and would like for you to know that we immediately addressed the pest control issue. In regards to our breakfast, we are delighted to provide guests with Danishes, Muffins, Cereals, Bagels, Doughnuts, Grits, Oatmeal, Fresh Fruit, Juices, and Fresh Belgian Waffles every day at no additional charge to our guests. We would also like to thank you for your comments about our spacious rooms, good parking, and great location. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and encourage all of our past guests to provide us with their customer experience.

Regards,
Gary Curry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Bern hotels

Kuwait
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived in New Bern early in the early evening to find all the hotels were fully booked, despite a number of them showing availability on their web-sites. We tried several and were told they were fully booked due to the fallout from hurricane Irene. Ominously we were told the Bridgepoiinte and Marina had rooms available - why when every other room in town was booked did they have rooms available?

It was now getting late, it was dark and raiining heavily so other than drive on for another couple of hours our only choice was to check in to the Bridgepointe. We soon found out why they were the only place with rooms - it was horrible. The reception area was manned by the unfriendliest person we had encountered during our 3 week trip and it had the most disgusting smell. At 90$ we hoped the room would be better and to be fair, it seemed quite clean and was a decent size, but you could not get away from the overpowering smell - it was difficult to describe but was a mixture of sweat, wet dog and cigarette smoke - delightful for a non-smoking room! By now it was so late we decided to sleep,get up early and get out of there as soon as possible! The bed wasn't too bad and the bathroom was spacious, but the smell lingered.

We were woken at 5.30am by the sound of banging doors and loud conversations as the contractors/truck drivers left so we got up early, showered and went to find the 'deluxe continental breakfast' as described in the hotel literature - included in our overpriced rate. To get to the 'breakfast room' you had to leave the main area, go through a security door into what looked like and old function room. It was far from deluxe with every item from the bagels to the sliced bread individually wrapped in cling wrap.

In the daylight, the place looked even worse and seemed to be a run down truck stop - it was obvious now why they were the only place in town with rooms and we passed on breakfast, deciding instead to get out of there as soon as possible.

In summary, if you enjoy sleeping in a stale ashtray this is the place for you! If not then do yourself a favour and pass by the Bridgepointe and Marina as quickly as possible,

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KuwaitGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at BridgePointe Hotel And Marina, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
In response to your comments regarding our hotel we would first like to thank you for your input. We will be immediately addressing the issue with the stale smell of the room and hallways. In regards to our breakfast, we are delighted to provide guests with Danishes, Muffins, Cereals, Bagels, Doughnuts, Grits, Oatmeal, Fresh Fruit, Juices, and Fresh Belgian Waffles every day at no additional charge to our guests. We would also like to thank you for your comments about our comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms while staying at our property. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and encourage all of our past guests to provide us with their customer experience.

Regards,
Gary Curry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have checked out of the hotel bridge pointe. It is dirty, it smells very bad and something bit me on the neck last night. These accommodations are very unsatisfactory in my opinion. I understand we are trying to keep cost down I really do but I can’t live in filth and wake up with bug bites every day either.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at BridgePointe Hotel And Marina, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
In response to your comments regarding our hotel we would first like to thank you for your input. We will be immediately addressing the issue with your room cleanliness. Our staff strives everyday to provide our guests with a comfortable, clean, and friendly place to rest. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and encourage all of our past guests to provide us with their customer experience.

Sincerely,

Gary Curry,
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Our work required us to stay away from home so we needed to find a place to stay. We called almost 10 hotels before we found Bridgepointe who was willing to take us and our four-legged child, a 6 year old Jack Russell. After being very frustrated from making a lot of phone calls, the receptionist, Kate, was very kind and patient in giving me directions and their availabilities. When we got to our room, which had a beautiful view of the marina, we rested well on a very comfortable bed, and relaxed in a quiet and spacious room. The continental breakfast was great the next morning. It was a very pleasant experience; we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levelzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.8 km away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.8 km away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
5.4 km away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BridgePointe Hotel And Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BridgePointe Hotel And Marina

Property: BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Address: 101 Howell Rd, New Bern, NC 28562-7853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,622 - ₹ 7,304
Hotel Class:2 star — BridgePointe Hotel And Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BridgePointe Hotel has 116 spacious and well appointed guest rooms and suites all featuring free wireless internet, refrigerators, microwaves, irons/ironing boards, coffee makers, and hairdryers. Riverview rooms and Jacuzzi Suites are available and for your convenience an ATM machine. The staff at the BridgePointe Hotel is fully committed to providing each guest with the finest service. The atmosphere of this charming riverfront hotel, coupled with the hotel's service commitment, makes it the perfect choice for your next visit to Historic New Bern! BridgePointe Hotel & Marina has 125 brand new floating boat slips located at the confluence of the Trent and Neuse Rivers. Our new state-of-the-art marina includes Brazilian Ipe hardwood docks, cable television, free limited wireless internet (additional service can be purchased), metered electric and fresh water connections for each slip. Our newly redesigned and completely renovated boater's lounge includes showers, restrooms, charcoal grills, laundry, and a comfortable air conditioned sitting area. BridgePointe Marina can accommodate vessels up to 150 feet in length in our deep water slips. We will be offering a special rate for a limited time, so be sure to contact us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your BridgePointe Hotel And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgepointe Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing