We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lookout Lady Scenic River Tours of New Bern-Day Boat Tours - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting and Relaxing

I am from New Bern and visit often. As an adult I wanted to take in the sights and explore the... read more

Reviewed 5 January 2016
PurpleTrippin
,
Durham, North Carolina
Relaxing 2 hours

Smooth riding boat with a narrated tour. See homes (Nicholas Sparks), wildlife and some local... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2015
icthec
,
Virginia
via mobile
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
16
6
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
6
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We celebrated our 7th anniversary on this lovely sunset cruise. It had rained hard the hour before and I thought they would cancel, however they didn't. The sunset was amazing! And it was relaxing and beautiful. We saw 8 osprey and 4 nests. I'm so glad we did it- an amazing value.

Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

2 hour tour around the New Bern harbor & up the Neuse & Trent rivers. Informative & friendly guides. Great descriptions of areas traveled.

Thank anlophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My husband and i loved this trip up the river, we especially like the later part of the trip that took you up the smaller river, sorry I do forget the name but it was just wonderful to see the beautiful homes, Nicholas Sparks home, and the Captain//narrator was very good, explained everything, and we thoroughly enjoyed all of it !! We both work very stressful jobs, health care managers, and we took a 10 day driving trip to the south this year, New Bern being our first stop for 3 days, and this was a great stop, our second trip to New Bern and I am sure we will be back again, and would take this trip again in a heartbeat !!! We traveled with you the on memorial day weekend of 2014.

3  Thank carrie10181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Not bad, comfortable boat ride, but the Tour Guide's script & narration needs a lot of work. Admittedly, he highlights a few interesting points about New Bern. However, there is SO much more to New Bern (especially from the vantage point of the river tour), that I felt like grabbing his microphone and interjecting all the interesting details he was leaving out! Like previous reviewers stated, what you see (on the brochure) is kinda what you get... basically a glimpse of an author's residence ("Oooh, I wondering what they're doing in there, right now), a crab trap, and an osprey nest. And once you reach the western end of the Trent, you reverse course, and bee-line home (tour's over!). Just a bit sad as there's so much more he could have shared about our great little town! Again, a comfortable ride and overall good safe seamanship, just invest a lot more time and effort into your history and overall knowledge of New Bern... and the two hour tour would really be something to rave about.

4  Thank CarlSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Lookout Lady Scenic River Tours of New Bern-Day Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We do head back quickly at the conclusion of the tour, so that we can go further in the two-hour time frame of the cruise. If you have the time, we would appreciate it if you would call us and give us the name of your captain or your travel date so that we can address this issue - we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

The Captain didn't seem to know anything about anything, except for what is printed in the brochure. In the second row we could not understand but every fifth word she spoke. She didn't tell us anything we could understand, but one of our group went up right next to her and later came back to tell us that what she had to say was meaningless, except for repeating the brochure, and spending a lot of time in front of Nicholas Sparks house. If you want to take a nap in the sun with the wind in your hair, this tour is for your. Otherwise, save your money.

4  Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Owner at Lookout Lady Scenic River Tours of New Bern-Day Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your trip. We employ local captains, and the captain on your trip does have a strong accent. As you can see we get nothing but strong reviews, and we take all of our reviews seriously. We will continue to strive to make our trips better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews