We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Christoph's on the Water
Ranked #27 of 182 Restaurants in New Bern
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Kinda pricey but very tasty! Over all a great place for a meal. Located inside the DoubleTree Hilton.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Pros & Cons:

Pet friendly outdoor dining is available on the exterior, shaded patio. It overlooks the New Bern Grand Marina and it's adjacent to the walking path. Food quality is "good to better" with a limited, but ample menu. Prices are moderate. It's comfortable, relaxing and worth a visit. The pool area and patio nearby usually have live entertainment on warm, weekend nights. Service can be very good, but that depends on the day and demand ( see below ).

The only real con that we have experienced after several visits is poor to fair service if the interior dining room is crowded. They just are not staffed properly for the Sunday morning rush or busy tourist traffic.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Have been here several times in the past - and unfortunately won't be back for dining. The food here used to be really good with several choices. This is a great location right on the water, but after a recent experience with out of town guests it will probably be our last for dining. They have drastically scaled back their menu as instructed by "corporate" according to one of the wait staff. Our guests looked at the menu on line and were quite excited by the choices - but when we got to the restaurant we were surprised that the menu was quite different and limited. We were all very disappointed and left to go elsewhere. Perhaps the breakfast buffet and seafood buffet are still served - but we'll never know. We'll leave that for their hotel guests to discover as that's who the "corporation" wishes to cater to and not the general public. What a shame and disappointment.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeanneZ833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

Dear Jeanne Z,

Thank you so much for considering Christoph's on the Water. We apologize that you were disappointed with the menu as we did scale it back and only kept the most popular items. We do still offer our delicious breakfast buffet and seafood buffet every Friday, as well as our Brunch on Sunday. We appreciate your feedback and hope you change your mind about not coming back.

Sincerely,
Tanika Outlaw
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My church group had breakfast here. They were very busy but took very good care of us. We had a choice of a full breakfast buffet, continental breakfast buffet or ordering off the menu. Our group tried all the choices and all were very satisfied. Very good food, the service was a little slow but they were very busy.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charliet371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This place used to have live music on Thursday nights, and on the deck in the summer, but some genius decided to end all that. Guess they didn't like making money. The wait staff is friendly, but oh my God the service is dreadful. VERY slow to be served, and not accurately either. Shouldn't be this hard....

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christoph's on the Water also viewed

 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Christoph's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing