We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay - As good or better than the first 2”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3rd Stay - As good or better than the first 2”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I just completed our third stay at this hotel, celebrating our 20th wedding anniversay. As with the first two times we have stayed here, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was very well maintained and the bed and linens very comfortable. We were in a 2nd floor Oceanfront room in the south(2 story building). The staff was very concientious in letting us know upon making the reservation and again at check-in that this building did not have an elevator, in the event that would be a problem, which it was not. The view from the balcony was wonderful, and we spent quite a bit of time sitting and watching the beach and water. During the week-end we were treated to watching dolphins on 2 different occasions and also a beach wedding right behind the hotel. Also, the hotel was kind enough to include a couple of ammenities for us for our anniversary for which I can't thank them enough. This has become our hotel of choice for beach getaways and we can't wait to head back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
If I could paint a picture of what we want our guests to expereince you two would be in it. We love when our guests come to stay with us to celebrate an occassion or to simply relax and enjoy the beauty of the Outer Banks. We feel our hotel offers the best of all worlds when this is what you are looking to do because of our fantastic location and our awesome staff. Thank you for your choice to make the Surf Side your place when you visit the OUter Banks. We want you to feel at home every time you stay with us. Thank you for the kind words and for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    377
    73
    9
    12
See reviews for
509
745
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A nice, very clean, well ran, basic hotel. Contential breakfast was a huge help with 3 kids. Immense value when you consider that. Enjoyed the indoor pool although it was small. We enjoyed the king loft room, but wish there was a way to have some privacy although there really aren't any good choices with privacy for bigger families in Nags Head. Only complaint would be better pillows. Will definetly be back!

Room Tip: King loft with a sofa (sofa pulls out) providing you with a little living room area. Room 410 is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Side during your recent trip to the Outer Banks. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. The room was clean,bed was comfortable had a fridge and microwave. We had a side room with a balcony which had an ocean view. At night we were able to fall asleep to the sound of the waves. The continental breakfast was great, had everything you would want including fresh fruit. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jutta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and give us a great rating! We work hard to deliver a wonderful experience for all of our guests while staying with us so we sincerely appreciate the acknowledgement. We appreciate your business and will hope youo can be our guest again soon.
cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, DE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel. We had to leave early for a family emergency but I want to express how well our stay was while we were there. From the cleanliness of the room, the great continental breakfast that included freshly cut up fruit, two types of cold cereal, hot oatmeal in various flavors, fresh pastries, muffins, bagels, waffles, a variety of bread including raisin bread, apple and orange juice, coffee, and tea. Maid service was excellent. The room was in top condition, in fact, the furniture seemed to be new. Last but not least, the bed was comfortable. I have been so disappointed at the other hotels we have stayed in with their uncomfortable beds.
oh, and by the way, the room key always opened the door with the first try! Thank you so much for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the third floor, the south building does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 293barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
It is great to read about your experience though I am sorry to hear you had to leave early. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Surf Side Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Traveling thru the outer banks. We relied on trip advisor for hotels. Surf side lives up to its number 1 standing. We had a corner room, 2 balconies overlooking pool and Ocean. Although the weather could have been better, the room was big and clean. Smallish bathroom but not a big deal.we were soothed to sleep by the sound of waves. We were woken by the same soothing sounds & happy gulls flying about. We were also graced with the sight of bottle nosed dolphins from our balcony. We were very pleased,wish our stay was longer!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torypiercefait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
22.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
9.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,523 reviews
12.3 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,140 - ₹ 20,126
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing