We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

A friend and I traveled from Michigan with our kayaks to explore some spring paddling in the OBX area. We had no hotel reservations and took a chance on finding accommodations. We stopped at a couple of places before trying the Surf Side and were disappointed in the quality. The Surf Side was way beyond what we had seen so far. We loved our stay here and will definitely return. The staff was so friendly and helpful with giving directions on where to explore and suggesting where to eat. The afternoon wine and snacks were a nice surprise too. Great room with a balcony on the third floor for watching the sun rise and listening to the waves. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jahene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    363
    71
    9
    12
See reviews for
476
719
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here two for two nights and had a lovely corner suite in the main building that was ocean front and had two balconies, one of which wrapped from the front to the side. The front balcony had rocking chairs and on the side was a chaise! Unfortunately it was rainy and windy, so we didn't use them as much as we would have if it had been nicer. The room was very clean, and well appointed. I love when a room has nice big towels and good toiletries which this one has! The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast in the morning and wine in the afternoon. I had a nice chat with some other visitors over a glass of wine. The pool area has great lounges with thick cushions. There is also an indoor pool which I did not use. I would highly recommend staying here. I prefer staying at smaller hotels that are individually owned because if they are run properly, the attention to detail makes them special, and this one is all that!

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have a good view, but we chose an oceanfront suite on the North side which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Surf Side. We are grateful for your business and for taking the time to review the hotel. We are a family owned and operated hotel so we do indeed take a great deal of pride in the product we deliver to our guests. We are fortunate to have wonderful a wonderful staff that helps us translate our idea of making you feel at home during your stay. Thank you for the kind words, we hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

1st floor, room 112, is the best ocean front room I have ever reserved. Quiet surroundings, just a great get away from the normal hustle of every day life. I'm 36 and this is my first trip to the OBX. I think I have found a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwdonahoe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I have to agree with you that the Surf Side offers as fantastic an oceanfront room as you will find. Obviously I am a little biased in my opinion but you just cant get any closer to the beach and the waves! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to the Outer Banks. I hope there will be many more and we can become your beach house!
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knewthomas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We ended up in the Outer Banks in the middle of January on a whim. We didn't hae reservation, but I knew they were open. We asked for a suite so we could put our 17 month old daughter down in a separate room. The man at the front desk gave us our choice of 3 rooms. We looked at the first and knew it was perfect. A corner suite with two balconies off the master.
The decor is not fancy, but tasteful. The room was very clean and well maintained. We were able to fall asleep to the sound of the waves with the doors open (in January!). We also could watch the dolphins from our balcony. Breakfast was fine. There were plenty of choices including fresh fruit.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a challenge finding restaurants opened that week, but they all went out of their way to point us in the right direction.
The bottom line is that the location on the beach is spectacular. This property is obviously well cared for and maintained and the folks that work there seem to truely care about their guests. We hope to find our way back there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knewthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
As much as we love our many repeat guests and the relationships we build with them, making a first time guest stay the first of many to come is our goal. It is especially rewarding when a guest reviews the Surf Side and share their experience that exemplifies what we want to deliver. I sincerely appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel. I also hope you will find your way back to us one day soon.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and exceptionally clean. We had a good view of the ocean from the first floor. Both the outdoor pool and the indoor pool look nice. We enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. However, it was a little chilly getting back in our swim suits from the South Building, where the pool is located, to our room in the main building. The gym is also nice. The continental breakfast is not bad -- there is lots of fresh fruit. There is one improvement we would suggest: Our lives could have been made easier, if there had been a couple of towel bars in our bathroom. The only place to hang a towel was one hook on the bathroom door. Overall, we can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't get an ocean front room, the ocean view will be better, the closer to the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNorthernVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Surf Side. I sincerely appreciate your kind words and suggestions, we will look into additional hooks. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to have you visit again soon. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for the review.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
14.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
9.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
11.8 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,438 - ₹ 19,781
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing