We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacular Ocean Views at a Great Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Morehead City, NC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spectacular Ocean Views at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Love the views out my window with dolphin cavorting in the surf, The bed is comfortable with the new high count Egyptian cotton sheets and the hot tub, pool and sweet potato ham biscuits in the morning are yummy. Close to everything and the price was excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on an upper floor so you can see the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront Hotel. The Atlantic Ocean is really wild and beautiful during the winter months and it is great to be able to enjoy it from the warmth and comfort of your room. We're glad that you enjoyed our indoor pool and hot tub and got a good night's sleep in our comfy beds with the upgraded linen package. Thank you for staying with us and please come back again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    156
    56
    12
    19
See reviews for
115
179
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Nice oceanfront hotel even in winter, our favorite time to go to the beach. Staff are very helpful in suggesting restaurants. Sweet potato biscuits are a nice continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an oceanfront room unless you like looking at roofs of houses and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth57718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. The winter is a great time to visit the Outer Banks, a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty and solitude of the beach in the off season. The staff and I are glad that you chose to stay with us and hope that you will return.

Sue Hogan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Checked in recently for a short overnight. Pleasantly surprised, great location, beautiful view from 5th floor overlooking ocean side. Nicely maintained pool available on 2nd floor was fully enclosed so able to use in the off-season, the best time to visit the outer banks!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. The off season is a great time to visit the Outer Banks and we are glad that you enjoyed your winter get away with us. We hope you come back to stay again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Conn.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Nags Head Inn was just perfect for us –a fourth floor oceanfront with a small balcony and two chairs, a small dining table and chairs, a microwave, free wi-fi and, best of all, an over-sized mini fridge. It was so relaxing to sit on the balcony and watch the birds and fishing boats. They have a small breakfast but we had our own food.

There is covered parking as well as an open lot.

The check-in and housekeeping staffs were friendly and helpful.

At checkout, the hotel clerk gave me a present “for the road”: kettle corn, packaged in a small box bearing the Nags Head logo! What a classy idea.

I had ordered tourist information from OuterBanks.org and received a booklet with a Getaway Card good for off-season deals at restaurants and hotels, including Nags Head Inn. It was 15 percent off rack rates for two or more consecutive nights, so for our three-night stay, we paid just $80/night (plus tax). Fabulous deal for such a nice location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SluggoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed it here and hope that you will come to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed here and were married on the beach on Sunday. I cannot say enough about the staff, the views, the cleanliness, etc. Everything was perfect. If you are looking for a five star resort, this is not the place to stay. This hotel has recently been remodeled, the staff was just superb in every way, and we could not have asked for more. We will return again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for staying with us and allowing the Nags Head Inn to be a part of your wedding memories. Management and staff hope that we will see you for many happy anniversaries in the years to come. Best wishes to you both in your new life together.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
3.1 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
19.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
9.2 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
11.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,361 - ₹ 19,151
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing